Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I am a big time tomato soup fan, however I've never made it from scratch before. I already had fresh plum tomatoes blanched & pureed so I thought I'd do something different with them. I stuck to the recipe but I only used 1/2 of a large onion, & 2 Tbsp each of butter & olive oil. I also decided to substitute the heavy cream for fat free half & half. I garnished it with croutons and it was wonderful! In the end, I wouldn't have done anything different. Thank you Alok for this super delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was good but I tweaked it a bit for more flavor. I added 3 stalks chopped celery with the onion, I also added 4 cloves garlic, I used a can of chicken stock, not a quart and it was so creamy after the blender I hardly used any cream at all! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
A terrific and easy recipe! I followed the recipe regarding ingredients, using tomatoes from the farmers' market and basil from my herb garden. I read the other reviews before I made the soup, noting that some without an immersion blender ended up wearing the soup. Since I do not have an immersion blender, the only change I made was stopping after step 1 and refrigerated the unblended soup overnight. The next day, I used my blender on the chilled soup and continued with step 2. No soup bath and a deliciously easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Pogemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was not very good... I'm not sure what other people found so appealing about it, unless of course, they did not make the actual recipe and instead made a ton of changes and then gave their own recipe 5 stars! The flavor was ok, but it was so thin and watery, and too much basil for my husband's tatses. If you're going to go ahead and make it, use way less broth and maybe some extra tomatoes perhaps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious. Used fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden. Took the seeds out and plunged them into hot water to get the skin off quickly. Added two crushed garlic cloves after adding the tomatoes and two pours of white wine. Blended in a blender and did not strain. The consistency was perfect without straining. Great easy recipe with few ingredients and a great way to use extra garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Used canned whole tomatos, added garlic, didn't have fresh basil so used dried basil, added spinach at the end for texture before pureeing. Fabulous for my sick hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very easy! Love this soup - the result is perfect amount of rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good flavor, although for me, a little too much onion and not enough tomato. However, I skipped the straining step, so maybe that was my fault. The color was pale orange, so garnish is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this soup yesterday and it was delicious! My husband who won't usually touch a vegetable loved it and had two helpings. It says to strain the soup but we like it chunky so we did not and it was SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States