Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very easy! Love this soup - the result is perfect amount of rich and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good flavor, although for me, a little too much onion and not enough tomato. However, I skipped the straining step, so maybe that was my fault. The color was pale orange, so garnish is key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I made this soup yesterday and it was delicious! My husband who won't usually touch a vegetable loved it and had two helpings. It says to strain the soup but we like it chunky so we did not and it was SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This one was a hit with the whole family! I meant to get this review up earlier. We actually tried it a few weeks ago. What to do with all the tomatoes from our garden? I had already made lots of spaghetti sauce and we'd eaten them in salads, so it was time for something different. This also made use of our garden's fresh basil, which was also plentiful. The result is a soup that is creamy with a delicate blend of the flavors that go into it, most notably the herbs. The batch I made was gone in 2 days. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connies Cocina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Amazing! I just added 2 tablespoons of Tomato paste ( for a richer color), 1 tablespoon dried basil, and a little more olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusha O.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
My husband loved this soup, and he hates tomato soup!!! He went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Celaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Add some goldfish crackers on top and this is pretty close to the perfect tomato soup! It's a versatile recipe and after making it several times here's the slightly healthier version I settled on: use 2T olive oil and skip the butter, use milk instead of cream, add a bit of celery, add red pepper flakes and sherry, and cut the chicken broth in half. I also skip the peeling and straining steps, and replace half of the tomatoes with a quart of home-canned tomatoes when I have them on hand. Also good with cheesy toast or Yummy Garlic Croutons from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Have made several times and love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly. It's perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States