Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Needs Parmesan on top and a little extra something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Excellent soup, actually doubled the recipe due to over abundance of garden tomatoes. I did add some hot sauce to cut down on sweetness. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I've made this Creamy Tomato Basil Soup five times in a large pot with 24 servings. Everyone loves it and keeps asking for it because its so delicious. My wife is the real cook in the family and she tried to tweak this recipe a couple of times, while I wasn't looking. I wasn't too happy about that. Why mess with perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fabchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I loved this recipe. I added only a cup of broth and doubled the basil. After pouring it through a strainer, I took the pulp and blended it until very smooth then added it. I liked the thickness it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I am a big time tomato soup fan, however I've never made it from scratch before. I already had fresh plum tomatoes blanched & pureed so I thought I'd do something different with them. I stuck to the recipe but I only used 1/2 of a large onion, & 2 Tbsp each of butter & olive oil. I also decided to substitute the heavy cream for fat free half & half. I garnished it with croutons and it was wonderful! In the end, I wouldn't have done anything different. Thank you Alok for this super delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
This was good but I tweaked it a bit for more flavor. I added 3 stalks chopped celery with the onion, I also added 4 cloves garlic, I used a can of chicken stock, not a quart and it was so creamy after the blender I hardly used any cream at all! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
A terrific and easy recipe! I followed the recipe regarding ingredients, using tomatoes from the farmers' market and basil from my herb garden. I read the other reviews before I made the soup, noting that some without an immersion blender ended up wearing the soup. Since I do not have an immersion blender, the only change I made was stopping after step 1 and refrigerated the unblended soup overnight. The next day, I used my blender on the chilled soup and continued with step 2. No soup bath and a deliciously easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Pogemiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was not very good... I'm not sure what other people found so appealing about it, unless of course, they did not make the actual recipe and instead made a ton of changes and then gave their own recipe 5 stars! The flavor was ok, but it was so thin and watery, and too much basil for my husband's tatses. If you're going to go ahead and make it, use way less broth and maybe some extra tomatoes perhaps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljshrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
Delicious. Used fresh tomatoes and basil from the garden. Took the seeds out and plunged them into hot water to get the skin off quickly. Added two crushed garlic cloves after adding the tomatoes and two pours of white wine. Blended in a blender and did not strain. The consistency was perfect without straining. Great easy recipe with few ingredients and a great way to use extra garden tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Used canned whole tomatos, added garlic, didn't have fresh basil so used dried basil, added spinach at the end for texture before pureeing. Fabulous for my sick hubby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States