Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Delicious! I used italian stewed tomatoes . . . .I used three cans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Not impressed. Flavor was okay but very watery. Not what I expected and took longer than anticipated to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I veganized this with the broth, butter (Earth Balance), and cream (soy milk), and it came out delicious. I made this to my visiting brother, who's heavily addicted to junk food, so I wanted for him to get some healthy, tasty meals in between. He kept raving over it and was asking for more the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Absolutely great. I added some low fat bacon crisps - was a hit with my husband and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I added 2 teaspoons of baking soda, which cuts the acid in tomatoes better than sugar would have. Also, I used 2 large Mason jars of home canned tomatoes with nothing added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Needs Parmesan on top and a little extra something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Excellent soup, actually doubled the recipe due to over abundance of garden tomatoes. I did add some hot sauce to cut down on sweetness. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I've made this Creamy Tomato Basil Soup five times in a large pot with 24 servings. Everyone loves it and keeps asking for it because its so delicious. My wife is the real cook in the family and she tried to tweak this recipe a couple of times, while I wasn't looking. I wasn't too happy about that. Why mess with perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fabchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Basking Ridge, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I loved this recipe. I added only a cup of broth and doubled the basil. After pouring it through a strainer, I took the pulp and blended it until very smooth then added it. I liked the thickness it added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I am a big time tomato soup fan, however I've never made it from scratch before. I already had fresh plum tomatoes blanched & pureed so I thought I'd do something different with them. I stuck to the recipe but I only used 1/2 of a large onion, & 2 Tbsp each of butter & olive oil. I also decided to substitute the heavy cream for fat free half & half. I garnished it with croutons and it was wonderful! In the end, I wouldn't have done anything different. Thank you Alok for this super delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States