Creamy Tomato-Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great soup & easy recipe. I will cut down on the onions next time & I didn't need to strain the soup at the end. I also made homemade croutons & it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
AWESOME! I'm fussy about tomato soup and this recipe passed with flying colors! The only change was...I used 3 tsp. of dried Basil Flakes instead of fresh Basil, which I didn't have on hand. This soup was to die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My kids really liked this soup. I would say that you should NOT add salt. The chicken broth made it salty enough on its own. I tried the soup as the recipe said but it wasn't quite to my liking so I added a teaspoon of sugar and a teaspoon of garlic powder. Also, I added half of a block of cream cheese and that made it much richer. I served it at a Christmas luncheon and got a lot of compliments. Make sure you don't forget to put the tomatoes and onions in the blender, though. That step's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klineellie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Spring Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
best recipe! I did add creama after freezing, or used almond milk instead of dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kenny
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
We had a bumper crop of Roma and Hanover tomatoes from our garden so we decided to make this soup for the first time. Stayed pretty close to the recipe, but sliced and roasted the tomatoes with a little EVOO and salt, for about 25 min. See pic. Then added them to the pot and simmered with the broth and other ingredients. Most of the skins floated to the top and were easy to skim out. After 20 min we took an immersion blender to it, and then finally put in the cream and simmered down. Was excellent with grilled cheese on crusty bread on a chilly fall afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
In the interest of eating healthier, I cut the oil and butter in half and it worked fine. I read the reviews about it being to watery so I just let my tomatoes cook without a lid for awhile and it was fine. I'm sure how much water you have depends on the type of tomatoes you use. I used fresh out of the garden along with fresh parsley and basil and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Ok with the basil. Absolutely amazing without basil. I used green onion instead in subsequent batches because we don't like basil here. Seriously it's super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made it in the winter so no fresh tomatoes or basil. Instead used canned crushed tomatoes and a couple of tablespoons of basil pesto and added a couple of cloves of chopped garlic. Also used Better than Bullion chicken broth since I was out of homemade. Even with these not so fresh ingredients, the soup was outstanding! The immersion blender made the soup so smooth there was no need for straining. Served with parmesan-topped crostini and it made a delicious lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Sounds Yummy. Im making this tomorrow, so Ill let you know how it turns out !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I thought it was okay but sort of bland. It seemed to need something but I couldn't figure out what. I'll try a different recipe the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States