Creamy Sweet Potato With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I made this for a light Christmas lunch and everyone loved it! Even my mother-in-law wanted the recipe! (She usually does all the cooking) I was proud of this soup and will serve it again for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
An excellent soup. I tried this hoping it would be like the soup at a local restaurant. I added some extra cayenne for some kick and it was just like the restaurant. Rave reviews from my husband, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I'd probably go 4 1/2 as I needed to work on spices, and definitely didn't use as much ginger/nutmeg/cayenne as called for. However, it gets the full five stars as it's packed with nutrition with low fat. Oh yeah, I just used milk thicked with a bit of cornstarch which I threw in the blender to get the last bits of soup. The instructions were great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used left over cooked sweet and white potatoes. I still caramelized the potatoes in the pan. I also added maybe 1-1/2 tsps of cayenne which really kicked it up. No sugar. No need for it. The potatoes are sweet already. Plus 2% milk instead of whole, which I had to keep adding as the soup kept thickening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I have a friend that just raves about it. I have had to make it for her several times now. I really like that it is relativly simple. I also think that the honey roasted peanuts really add something to this dish. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is the best soup I have ever made. Seriously. It was exactly what I wanted it to be...creamy, sweet, with a little spice. YUM. My husband couldn't get enough...he said it was absolutely delicious. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Wonderful! Smooth, spicy soup. Just the right amount of zip. I love it! 1-1/2 pounds is basically 2 medium sweet potatoes, and around 4 cups cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very nice and creamy! I wanted to taste the sweet potatoes and not taste like pumpkin pie so I cut the ginger back to 1 tsp. and used just a pinch of nutmeg and cayenne. For the chicken broth I used 2 Knorr chicken cubes dissolved in the 3 cups of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This is one of the richest, silkiest, velvetiest soups ive ever had. This is so wonderful. The only alterations i made was using unsweeteded plain Silk soymilk and added one more clove of garlic. This is so simple and so impressive. I served it with a small side salad with a drizzle of caesar dressing and it was to die for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States