Creamy Sweet Potato With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I made this for a light Christmas lunch and everyone loved it! Even my mother-in-law wanted the recipe! (She usually does all the cooking) I was proud of this soup and will serve it again for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Wonderful! Smooth, spicy soup. Just the right amount of zip. I love it! 1-1/2 pounds is basically 2 medium sweet potatoes, and around 4 cups cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
An excellent soup. I tried this hoping it would be like the soup at a local restaurant. I added some extra cayenne for some kick and it was just like the restaurant. Rave reviews from my husband, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was good, but we liked the left-overs even more with two easy additions. I thought the soup needed a little something, so I added a teaspoon of curry powder and a couple tablespoons of peanut butter to the remaining soup. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
If I could have given this 3 and 1/2 stars, I would have. I liked it, but I thought there was just a little too much ginger and nutmeg. My husband thought it tasted like pumpkin pie soup! I will definitely make this again, but with reduced nutmeg and ginger. I think I'd also add some cumin, just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is the best soup I have ever made. Seriously. It was exactly what I wanted it to be...creamy, sweet, with a little spice. YUM. My husband couldn't get enough...he said it was absolutely delicious. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
A wonderful, savory soup. I added about an 1/8 teaspoon of cardamom, and substituted a 12 ounce can of non-fat evaporated milk for the half-n-half. Don't skimp on the onion and garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I have a friend that just raves about it. I have had to make it for her several times now. I really like that it is relativly simple. I also think that the honey roasted peanuts really add something to this dish. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used left over cooked sweet and white potatoes. I still caramelized the potatoes in the pan. I also added maybe 1-1/2 tsps of cayenne which really kicked it up. No sugar. No need for it. The potatoes are sweet already. Plus 2% milk instead of whole, which I had to keep adding as the soup kept thickening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
not my favorite, i would add italian or chorizo sausage next time, mabey some cheese too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States