Creamy Sweet Potato With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I made this for a light Christmas lunch and everyone loved it! Even my mother-in-law wanted the recipe! (She usually does all the cooking) I was proud of this soup and will serve it again for a special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
An excellent soup. I tried this hoping it would be like the soup at a local restaurant. I added some extra cayenne for some kick and it was just like the restaurant. Rave reviews from my husband, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
If I could have given this 3 and 1/2 stars, I would have. I liked it, but I thought there was just a little too much ginger and nutmeg. My husband thought it tasted like pumpkin pie soup! I will definitely make this again, but with reduced nutmeg and ginger. I think I'd also add some cumin, just to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This soup was fantastic! I made it for my husband for our Christmas dinner and he raved about it! It was quick, easy, and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Great texture, great flavor! I only used 1/16 tsp of the cayenne pepper and it's just enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I'd probably go 4 1/2 as I needed to work on spices, and definitely didn't use as much ginger/nutmeg/cayenne as called for. However, it gets the full five stars as it's packed with nutrition with low fat. Oh yeah, I just used milk thicked with a bit of cornstarch which I threw in the blender to get the last bits of soup. The instructions were great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used left over cooked sweet and white potatoes. I still caramelized the potatoes in the pan. I also added maybe 1-1/2 tsps of cayenne which really kicked it up. No sugar. No need for it. The potatoes are sweet already. Plus 2% milk instead of whole, which I had to keep adding as the soup kept thickening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was good, but we liked the left-overs even more with two easy additions. I thought the soup needed a little something, so I added a teaspoon of curry powder and a couple tablespoons of peanut butter to the remaining soup. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I have a friend that just raves about it. I have had to make it for her several times now. I really like that it is relativly simple. I also think that the honey roasted peanuts really add something to this dish. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States