Creamy Sweet Potato With Ginger Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Very nice and creamy! I wanted to taste the sweet potatoes and not taste like pumpkin pie so I cut the ginger back to 1 tsp. and used just a pinch of nutmeg and cayenne. For the chicken broth I used 2 Knorr chicken cubes dissolved in the 3 cups of boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I really like this recipe. I halved the potatoes with butternut squash and halved the ginger and cayenne and omitted the nutmeg. Just for personal taste. I also used Greek Yogurt instead of half and half. It gave it a tangy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Wonderful! Smooth, spicy soup. Just the right amount of zip. I love it! 1-1/2 pounds is basically 2 medium sweet potatoes, and around 4 cups cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
If you do not have a blender, make it any way. You can mash it with a fork, or just eat it as is. The flavor will still be tasty. I'd only had sweet potatoes cook one of three ways. The combination of these flavors was a nice surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is the best soup I have ever made. Seriously. It was exactly what I wanted it to be...creamy, sweet, with a little spice. YUM. My husband couldn't get enough...he said it was absolutely delicious. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This is an awesome recipe. I have a friend that just raves about it. I have had to make it for her several times now. I really like that it is relativly simple. I also think that the honey roasted peanuts really add something to this dish. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA
Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was good, but we liked the left-overs even more with two easy additions. I thought the soup needed a little something, so I added a teaspoon of curry powder and a couple tablespoons of peanut butter to the remaining soup. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I used left over cooked sweet and white potatoes. I still caramelized the potatoes in the pan. I also added maybe 1-1/2 tsps of cayenne which really kicked it up. No sugar. No need for it. The potatoes are sweet already. Plus 2% milk instead of whole, which I had to keep adding as the soup kept thickening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I'd probably go 4 1/2 as I needed to work on spices, and definitely didn't use as much ginger/nutmeg/cayenne as called for. However, it gets the full five stars as it's packed with nutrition with low fat. Oh yeah, I just used milk thicked with a bit of cornstarch which I threw in the blender to get the last bits of soup. The instructions were great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High River, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States