Creamy Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I like it but it came out pretty frothy. I guess don't over puree it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I was looking for an accompaniment to my meal as was amazed I had everything on hand. I followed recipe and ingredients as listed but felt the end result was overpowered by the cumin. I added cinnamon as suggested by another user and it was the perfect balance to the cumin. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HollyEverhart
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
DELICIOUS! Easy to make, filling. I loved it. I did rosemary instead of cumin (didn't have cumin) and added chili powder & cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HollyEverhart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
MUST ADD CINNAMON!!! I made it as written and it was just "ok", hence the 3 stars. My husband tried it but wouldn't eat more than one bite. I then added cinnamon to it and THEN it was delish! The cinnamon TOTALLY makes it. I rate it 5 stars with this simple addition. It makes it taste more like a pumpkin soup. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My husband was not a fan of sweet potatoes, but loved this hearty soup. I used veg broth and only 1tsp of cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This was such a good recipe. However I substituted the onion with roasted red peppers (more florvorful and creamy) and yogurt with coconut cream. Just a healthier twist that made it taste heaps better too.f
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esterthebester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
The taste was great, but mine was super brothy. Isn't it supposed to be pretty thick? Anyone else have this issue?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
my man hates sweet potatoes (and soup) but he somehow loved this! i had sweet potatoes but no yogurt, so i used sour cream instead (also left out the parsley/cilantro because i didn't have it). while it wasn't as healthy, it was SO delicious! i'd like to try it with yogurt and cilantro someday. i'm still rating this even though i used a substitution because this soup had such a delicious flavor and barely any ratings. i'd never had sweet potato soup before, but i'm glad i tried this! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Love love love this soup. Easy to make and my whole family loved it. Even pleased my very picky father. My batch came out a little bitter, but I just added a little butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bantam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I just so happened to have plain yogurt and a large sweet potato that I wanted to use up. I cut the recipe in half and was pleasantly surprised. This is a very nice soup. I will be making this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States