Creamy Succotash with Bacon, Thyme and Chives Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I needed a vegie recipe for 120 people for a dinner I was catering at church and this was delicious. I omitted chives and used powdered thyme instead(couldn't find fresh) I sprinkled the bacon on top after it was poured into trays. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Very good. I used can lima beans and corn because that is what I had on had on hand and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is fabulous. I followed recipe as is; made a day ahead, and as per recipe, did not add the cooked bacon and chives until I was reheating right before serving. Definately use frozen vegies -- better flavor and texture. I highly recommend this for Thanksgiving buffet; easy, very nice colors, and very tasty -- and I think even picky eaters would be surprised if they give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I have a fond nostalgia for succotash, and was so pleased to find this recipe for an updated version when searching for one recently in advance of a southern themed supper. I love the combination of flavors and textures. I've made it several times now, and have used dried thyme in lieu of fresh; have omitted the chives by mistake: still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Very good, I used sausage instead of bacon, but I felt like it needed another spice to make it great. I will still make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
This was very good. My cream did not reduce much, so it's a good idea to mix before scooping to coat the veges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I made this for a gathering, doubled the recipe, and it was gobbled up! I made it ahead by a couple of hours and kept it warm in a 170 degree oven until I had to go. Really good comfort food recipe! I was unable to find the baby lima beans, and used regular size, and it worked fine. I also substituted green onions for the chives. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This was wonderful! I didn't have any cream, so I used evaporated milk and a pat of butter. It was so easy to make, and tasty and filling- even the kids cleaned their plates. Will be making again- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was delicious! I was skepical at first because the succotash of my childhood was very sweet, and I was worried this would not live up to that. But it was better! I'm a college student, who's mother stocked the pantry, so I had canned limas and corn which I used. I drained the limas but not the corn because the corn juice was sweeter, and since I wasn't cooking the limas in water, I figured I needed some more liquid. I also had no heavy cream so I used whole milk, less than the half cup called for. I didn't have the thyme or the chives, so for another flavor I sauteed some red bell pepper in the bacon fat when I was doing the onions. I was delicious, all my college friends loved it. And for someone who is not very experienced at cooking, it was an easy recipe to make a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This was OK...but I prefer this without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Succotash

See how to make sensational, suffer-free succotash.

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Sufferin’ Succotash Corn Salad

See how to make Chef John’s favorite fresh sweet corn salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States