Creamy Strawberry Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I fell in love with crepes one year at IHOP when they were offering them seasonally. This is a yummy substitute that fills my craving until it's offered again. I give it four stars though because I found the recipe needed some changes. I did the last steps of making the cream cheese filling and whipping the cream first, and I put it in the fridge. I'm glad I did this, because cooking the crepes was VERY time-consuming. 2 tablespoons of batter made the crepes too tiny, even when I did tip the pan every which way. So I upped it to about 4 tablespoons or a little less than 1/4 a cup. I also had to cook it on less than medium heat or else it set too fast before I could spread the batter. If I had to change anything about my experience, I would have made sure my husband was home to entertain our 15 month old daughter. Cooking the crepes took so long, let's just say by the time I was done I had a screaming baby, a toy-scattered kitchen, and a messy diaper by the end of it. If I had used 2 Tablespoons of batter each time, I would have been cooking half the day and brunch would have become afternoon dinner. Time-consuming-- yes, but it's worth the result-- at least until IHOP brings back the crepes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I thought this recipe was great, the filing was a little too sweet for my husband so next time i will cut back on the sugar and i didnt use the lemon zest but aside from that they were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
For my best friend's bridal shower I chose a theme "Parisian Cafe" and I used this recipe for the crepes I made as appetizers. I used this recipe in combination with the recipe "Dessert Crepes" also from allrecipes. Everyone LOVED them. One person even told me that these crepes were better than some that she had at her favorite restaurant :) I also ended up making them again a few days after the shower because they were so good. Both times I made them I didn't use lemon zest and the cream cheese filling still tasted great. The second time I didn't use lemon zest or lemon juice and they were still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I made these for my husband today and with the exception of leaving out lemon juice ( I was out) I followed the recipe to the letter. My Husband ran out of adjectives describing how wonderful they were. This will be a weekly item for him and I thank you for the fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
These were sooooooo good! After reading other reviews, I used less than the full amount of powdered sugar. I also used regular whipping creamed and whipped it without sweetening it. The filling turned out sweet but not too sweet. I sliced my strawberries, tossed them with sugar and put them in the fridge while I did the filling and the crepes. My crepes turned out okay but not great. Kind of blah tasting and they didn't look right but they worked, I think it was my pan. Still a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
I made these for my wife for her birthday and she loved 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I grew up on strawberry crepes but do not make them very often. Decided to try this recipe as I make myself strawberry crepes for Mother's Day. This was delicious! I love sweets and these were perfect with a glass of milk. I will be making crepes more often now that I have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmmmomma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmore, New York, USA
Living In: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I used this recipe for the filling, but used the "Basic Crepes" recipe for the actual crepe. They were similar. Made a couple changes to the filling after reading reviews. I used only 1 cup of sifted confectioners sugar and I made the filling first and put in the fridge while preparing the crepes. Next time I think I will leave out the lemon zest & only add 1/2 tsp lemon juice. Used lowfat cream cheese. Also will increase the vanilla to 1 tsp. Very filling, but also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This review is for the filling only, as I had already made the crepes using the "basic crepe" recipe, also on this site. I usually make savory crepes, but hubs requested a dessert crepe (odd - as he usually doesn't eat sweets), but I needed a filling. I prepare the filling exactly as directed. I really liked the lemon flavor of the filling, but the kids not so much. The cream cheese, powdered sugar, vanilla and cream proportions are just right. If you choose to forego the lemon juice, you can always thin it out a bit with a splash of milk. Nice recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
These are SO wonderful and easy! It was sweet, but that was what was yummy about it. We don't have something like this often so it was so fun to splurge. We used cherry pie filing and canned whipped cream which was easy and yummy. I think blueberry, strawberry, applie, peach, etc pie filling would work too. I was able to get to where I was flipping them without a spatula! When we DO make crepes, this will be our recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crepes

These crepes are light and delicious, and fillings can be sweet or savory.

French Crepes

These crêpes can be used with savory or sweet fillings. Bon appétit!

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States