Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Very Good. I used Chorizo instead of bacon and whole milk which worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Tastes great, especially once you add the bacon, and it's not overly complicated to make. Mine turned out a bit grainy—might want to run it through a chinoise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Been making this recipe every fall and winter since I discovered it 3 years ago! Our house LOVES it as an alternative to the usual sweet nutmeg/cinnamon/maple flavors of squash soups this time of year. So far I have used butternut and acorn squashes, and plan to try it with pumpkin and spaghetti squash this week (will let you know!). To mix up the flavor, I often add dill, cayenne, and/or ginger. You just cant go wrong....serve with a side salad and some delicious crusty bread! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Added a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper for a little kick and left out the bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. It was simple to prepare (I used leftover boiled squash cubes and boullion) and vey tasty. I found that the flavor/texture was even better the second day. Definitely a keeper, and one to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I made this as stated and wasn't too thrilled with the finished product. I may have just been personal preference. I'm not a fan of indian food, but if you are you might love this soup. I added 1/2 grated parmesan and 1 cup vegetable juice. I found it to be edible then. I commited to eating it though and by my 3rd serving it really had grown on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
it was ok, i added a little too much spice but i had to add a little extra broth because for me it was too squash-y if i didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good. I liked this alot. Giving it 4 stars because my family ate it but weren't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Wow great soup. First attempt with squash and it was awesome. I roasted both an acorn and butternut squash and used a combination of both. I did dollop some sour cream but don't think it really needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was better than expected. I loved the curry, even though I was nervous about it. I used a butternut squash and I used cream cheese instead of sour cream (mainly because I wasn't paying attention, but it worked). I also used a whole pack of bacon instead of just the three strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States