Creamy Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Very Good. I used Chorizo instead of bacon and whole milk which worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Tastes great, especially once you add the bacon, and it's not overly complicated to make. Mine turned out a bit grainy—might want to run it through a chinoise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Been making this recipe every fall and winter since I discovered it 3 years ago! Our house LOVES it as an alternative to the usual sweet nutmeg/cinnamon/maple flavors of squash soups this time of year. So far I have used butternut and acorn squashes, and plan to try it with pumpkin and spaghetti squash this week (will let you know!). To mix up the flavor, I often add dill, cayenne, and/or ginger. You just cant go wrong....serve with a side salad and some delicious crusty bread! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Added a couple of dashes of cayenne pepper for a little kick and left out the bacon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup. It was simple to prepare (I used leftover boiled squash cubes and boullion) and vey tasty. I found that the flavor/texture was even better the second day. Definitely a keeper, and one to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I made this as stated and wasn't too thrilled with the finished product. I may have just been personal preference. I'm not a fan of indian food, but if you are you might love this soup. I added 1/2 grated parmesan and 1 cup vegetable juice. I found it to be edible then. I commited to eating it though and by my 3rd serving it really had grown on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
it was ok, i added a little too much spice but i had to add a little extra broth because for me it was too squash-y if i didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good. I liked this alot. Giving it 4 stars because my family ate it but weren't crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Burks Reynolds

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Wow great soup. First attempt with squash and it was awesome. I roasted both an acorn and butternut squash and used a combination of both. I did dollop some sour cream but don't think it really needs it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Murphy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This was better than expected. I loved the curry, even though I was nervous about it. I used a butternut squash and I used cream cheese instead of sour cream (mainly because I wasn't paying attention, but it worked). I also used a whole pack of bacon instead of just the three strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States