Creamy Spinach Tortellini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I've made this recipe for a few years now (we always called it tortellini primavera) and every time I make it, I make a few changes. To cut down on fat, as many people mentioned, use skim milk, and instead of fat free cream cheese (which I've found really does significantly affect the taste negatively) I use neufchatel cheese which has about a third less fat but retains the flavor. Also, I've never made it with cherry tomatoes, either just chop up some plum tomatoes, or try using a package of sundried tomatoes instead for a little more interesting flavor. Baby portabellos can be substituted for white mushrooms, etc. This recipe is one of my favorites and has room for lots of possibilities.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I'm 19, and this was the first REAL dinner I made for my non-vegetarian parents. It turned out great, almost as if I came straight from a restaurant. I took the advice from others by additionally adding a can of diced tomatoes with green chillies. This gave the dish a little "kick." I also added Italian seasoning, salt, pepper and artichoke hearts. Great dish. Simple enough for a 19 year old college student to make :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This recipe was really good. I added 3 cloves of minced garlic with the onions which was added some more flavor. I also added 1 can of drained diced tomatoes with green chilies with the spinach mixtured to add some spice. This dish was very rich and creamy. Very filling. Another suggestion that might be good is to add some artichoke hearts. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I liked it, but it was very heavy. I doubled the recipe (except for the spinach) and left out the mushrooms. I think next time I would put in more flavoring, like garlic or italian seasoning (like someone suggested). So it was really good but really rich!! EDIT: I haven't made this in a long time - I wish I had! I doubled the recipe again, including the spinach, left out the mushrooms, and added some garlic powder. It got rave reviews from the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was absolutely incredible - definetly restaurant quality and so simple! I added Italian seasonings, salt and pepper, and a couple tablespoons of pesto. I also substituted roma tomatoes because I didn't have cherry tomatoes- super delicious. Next time I think I will double the tomatoes. This dish is incredibly rich so I recommend serving small portions and then have plenty of green leaf salad to balance out the richness. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynnessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moscow, Idaho, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
This was REALLY good! I also changed it up a bit so couldn't give it 5 stars, but with my mods, I would! I also cut the amount of cream cheese & spinach in half (4 oz. cream cheese and 5 oz. of spinach). I sauteed 3 minced garlic cloves with the onion and added some fresh chopped basil, 1/2 tsp of italion seasoning, and a few dashes of salt. I didn't have any mushrooms or I would have added them and we're not big tomato eaters here so I omitted those as well. Even with reducing the cream cheese, this recipe was still very rich. The next time I make it I will use skim milk instead of 2% and I will add a little bit more of it. I may even cut back on the cream cheese a bit more. But I will definitely make it again! My kids gobbled it up. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I liked this with all the adjustments other reviewers suggested. I used 3/4 cup of milk and half a packet of Italian dressing seasoning for the blandness others were talking about. To cut back on fat, I used neufatchel cheese and sauteed the onions with garlic. With all the liquid from the tomatoes and spinach plus the extra milk, I found myself with too much sauce. It was the right consistency, but I probably should've used more than 9 oz of tortellini. Great way to prepare some extra spinach I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I used the lowfat cream chese, 1 cup of milk, 3 cloves of garlic and 3 cups of dry tortellini. It was easy & fast to make, creamy & it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
This was an amazingly easy dinner to throw together! I used spinach stuffed tortellini as it was all I had on hand, and for the sauce, I used 95% fat-free cream cheese, 1% milk and I am sure that lowered the calories a ton! Along with using a wee bit of Olive Oil for sauteeing the mushrooms, makes for a very waist-line friendly meal. You do not need all the calories of butter, regular cream cheese and cream/whole milk. It has a raelly nice flavour and the spinach/tomatoes make a nice colourful presentation! Thanks Jennifer for creating this dish! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Photo by RAPTORSHARK
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is basically the same as http://allrecipes.com/recipe/spinach-cheese-tortellini/detail.aspx The only thing I did different was I made the sauce out of a jar of garlic alfredo sauce and 1/2 tub of "garlic cream cheese for baking", heated up in a saucepan. Added that sauce, along with spinach and sauteed mushroms to the cooked tortellini. Didn't use tomatoes or onion. Came out tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAPTORSHARK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States