Creamy Spinach-Stuffed Portobellos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Gave this one a try last night, though I had to make some last-minute substitutions (my store was out of the large portobellos, so I bought a 8oz pack of baby bellas). Since I had smaller mushrooms, I cut up the entire package (each mushroom into four slices) and added them to the frying pan with the onions and tomato. I also added about a tbsp of worcestshire for flavor during the saute process. After adding the spinach and cream of celery, I added 1/4 cup whole milk to make it a little smoother in consistency (while keeping all of it in the frying pan). I put the whole oven-safe frying pan into the oven at the recommended temp until it was bubbly (10 mins), then added a layer of 1/4 cup mozzarella (was out of parmesean), and then the bread crumbs. Gave it a quick broil to brown it lightly and voila! It was very tasty, rich, and satisfying, especially eaten with some herby bread. Not the prettiest casserole, but we didn't spend much time looking at it. Next time I'll try it with the big portobellos, but this method isn't a bad option if those can't be found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I wanted to cut the fat so I eliminated the cream and this quick and easy dish was still awesome. To add some kick, I added salt, red pepper to the onion, tomato, spinach mix. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was pretty easy to make and it was good! The mixture was a little watery, but I let it sit for a while and some of it evaporated. The store didn't have whole portobellos, so I used sliced ones. I arranged them on the bottom of the pan and spread the sauce mixture over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
What a surprise! I was expecting something bland and watery, given the lack of spices in the ingredients. I thought this dish was absolutely delicious. I made several substitutions because I didn't have all the ingredients: I used condensed cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of celery; frozen spinach instead of fresh; olive oil instead of vegetable oil; and I cut out the bread crumbs altogether. Healthy, hearty, easy, and full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Love it. Very easy and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Delicious recipe, and a great meat-free weeknight meal. These were very creamy and filling, even my BF (who wasn't excited about a meatless meal) really enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer87

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I'm so glad I read the reviews before cooking this because a whole can of soup would've been too runny. I used crm of mushroom soup instead of celery and it worked out great. I don't think this is a stand alone meal, though. A side of potatoes or rice would work well. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Really really good. Might try it with wild rice in it next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nexus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Really Good! Definitely will make again. Might try Cream of Mushroom next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
After reading some of the reviews I decided to go with Cream of Mushroom and use only half a can. I also used baby bellas instead of the full size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States