Creamy Spinach Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
i loved it! i added a bit of cheddar and some chorizo which really made it spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing this recipe! I only made a couple of minor changes to it. I used a teaspoon of chopped garlic instead of powder. Then I melted two tablespoons of butter in the pot, and sautéed both the onion and garlic before adding the spinach. I also used a can of chicken broth instead of chicken bouillon, and two cups of heavy cream instead of three cups of half and half. It came out good and thick the way I like it. This soup was easy to make and it was delicious!! My family devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by genn
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I followed the recipe but used fresh spinach, garlic & onions. I threw my stick blender in the pot after and got a smooth creamy kid-friendly incredibly delish soup! I make it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This recipe would be great as is or with changes. Flexible is good! I used milk instead of half and half and it was still awesome. Would be 'to die for' with the half and half! Used fresh spinach because I had some that needed to be used - chopped it first. Didn't measure the spinach, but it was about half or slightly less of a one pound container. This seemed like a good amount. Added some sliced baby portabella mushrooms because we had them on hand and sauteed the onions and mushrooms first. The mushrooms are a nice addition if you like them. This base could be used for a variety of vegetables - broccoli, asparagus, perhaps a potato mushroom combo. I may try to reduce the butter next time to help on calories a little. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Really good however I added about a cup of parmesan cheese too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Colakovic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Great recipe! My son picky that is two was cleaning his bowl. It is definitely a keeper! I want it more creamy, but I LOVE SPINACH, so it was still good!;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherealove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverdale, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I just made it, with the original recipe, except the garlic powder, instead I used fresh garlic, only taste it and is great, delicious. Hope my husband and my son like it too. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Servia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
YUM! I chose this recipe because it was one of the simper ones I could find online. It did not disappoint, and I will be making it again! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen. I also used "Better Than Bouillon" out of a jar. It taste so much better than the canned bouillon or cubes. Next time I make this, I'll make sure I have a big bread bowl that I can put the soup in. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelayna
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this today...it's delicious! I wanted a cream of spinach and chicken soup , so I used a can of cream of chicken soup in place of one of the cups of half and half. It is rich and delicious!! Next time will add some chunks of chicken for more texture. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this soup, with a few changes, and it was fabulous! I'm strict low-carb, so I omitted the flour and used heavy cream instead. The cream thickened up the soup nicely. I also sauteed onions and fresh garlic in butter before adding the broth and spinach. Finally, I used fresh baby spinach instead of frozen. I didn't bother to chop it up or cook it ahead of time. I just tossed it with the broth and let it cook for 10-12 minutes or so, stirring occasionally. I also garnished with a sprinkle of shredded Parmesan. This is a keeper and I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States