Creamy Spiced Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe was fabulous. Normally I don't like coleslaw, so when the fiance requested it to go along with some pulled pork sandwiches he was bringing to the church, I thought 'fabulous, now I have to hunt down a recipe'. Then, he went on to say that he liked his coleslaw sweet, not vinegar-y. Men are so picky! Lol ;) I started out this recipe by only adding 1/2 cup of mayo, then slowing adding spoonfuls until it was the perfect consistency. As this being my first time making coleslaw, I didn't realize how much it liquidizes while refrigerating (will probably keep it closer to 1/2 cup next time). I also didn't put any onion powder or celery seed (didn't have any on hand), and minimized the vinegar to 1 tbsp. Everybody loved it and said that it was the best coleslaw they had ever had! I was sending this recipe to quite a few people afterwards :) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Thoreson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great flavor and creamy texture. The whole family loved it. Not watery like most coleslaw recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmaronic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
A very nice spiced coleslaw that isn't too sweet as many of them can be. We enjoyed this one very much. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
So delicious! I used another member's suggestion of ¼c sour cream ¾c mayo. I only had red wine vinegar, so I used that. This is my new coleslaw recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I added half a Vidalia onion, chopped. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Absolutely perfect! This is my ideal creamy coleslaw. I followed the recommendations of 3/4 cup mayo and 1/4 cup sour cream. No celery seed in my cupboards, so I added a generous dash of celery salt. Since I shredded my own cabbage and veggies, I gradually mixed in scoops of the sauce. I have about 1/4 cup left over. It only has too much sauce if you add too much! Will save the excess for a veggie dip! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I loved this recipe and so did my family, they gobbled it all up! I didn't have celery seed so I used celery salt and followed MrsHappyHomemaker and used 1/4 sour cream and 3/4 mayo! Next time I may add some red pepper flakes for a little spicy twist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
So delicious...I cant even eat anyone else's but mine !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This is similar to what my mom used to make. The only differences are: instead of sugar I use an 8 oz can of crushed pineapple and 3/4 cup of lite mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rtbrgy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Best coleslaw ever. I used red wine viniger and celery salt....fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emerald Isle, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Restaurant-Style Coleslaw I

A creamy, sweet-tart salad that tastes like a popular chicken restaurant’s slaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States