Creamy Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Adding cream cheese and sour cream to "smashed" potatoes is something I do routinely. Baking them after they're done is not. I really was very pleased with the end result--they are really so much more attractive this way than simply plopping some mashed potates on a plate! I used full fat sour cream and cream cheese, and a good gob of butter as well. Threw in some chopped chives, baked them in a gratin dish, then garnished them with more chives and, yes, more butter. Beautiful presentation for the lowly mashed potato! If I had been more ambitious, I would have taken it a step further and piped the potatoes into the dish with a decorating tip. Next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These were a big hit with my family last night. I did use less sour cream & added some butter. Lots of fresh garlic & pepper. We don't eat salt (although I did buy the wrong butter & picked up salted). Everyone loved them. I made some baked carrots while these were cooking & it was great to have everything hot & ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Came out great! I always use butter, but the cream cheese made it super creamy, very light. I would add a little more salt and pepper to taste, as the cream cheese doesn't give it quite as much flavor as the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
my husband made these for Thanksgiving dinner and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
OH MY! These are divine! (Did I just say divine? Yes! I did!) They were a hit at my dinner gathering...everyone liked the slightly different texture the baking gave it. I followed the recipe exactly, adding just a few bits of butter to the top before baking. What a wonderful side dish! Don't make them TOO far in advance or the top will get crackly and a little dry. **I LOVE the subtle onion flavor. I usually use garlic, so this was a great way to get me to change it up. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made these as directed except for the onion salt (because I didn't have any) and I didn't bake them. I used garlic salt instead. My husband and I loved these. I think a little chedder cheese sprinkled on top while still hot would make them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My daughter and I made these last night w/ Caramel Pork Chops and Green bean bundles. With the addition of some more salt, we got rave reviews!! I was told, "It was the best dinner I've ever had," "You get an A++!" I received the compliments that I pass on to you! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I make these all the time. However; I don't bake them at the end. I just mix the boiled potatoes, margarine, sour cream, chream cheese, and pepper together and then serve. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
These were very tasty and easy to prepare. I used garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, regular sour cream, and regular cream cheese. I will make these again but try to lessen the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I've been doing my mashed potatoes this way for years and years. Only difference in ingredients is that I use garlic powder and white pepper. Since I now have a very small kitchen and only one oven, I've started using the crock pot to keep them warm instead of letting them take up valuable oven space. We all like them better this way, they stay creamier in the crock pot, the oven tends to dry them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States