Creamy Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Came out great! I always use butter, but the cream cheese made it super creamy, very light. I would add a little more salt and pepper to taste, as the cream cheese doesn't give it quite as much flavor as the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
my husband made these for Thanksgiving dinner and they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was not very good. I followed the recipe exactly. Once it was removed from the oven it was so dense you could slice it with a knife. My husband even tried to save it with butter and milk. Needless to say we were quite embarassed as we served our Thanksgiving company. No offense to the creator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2chayse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Ridge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was very good. This coming from someone who usually skipps the mashed potatoes. My husband didn't use reduced fat ingredients and substitutes garlic salt for the onion salt. It was a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romeo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Adding cream cheese and sour cream to "smashed" potatoes is something I do routinely. Baking them after they're done is not. I really was very pleased with the end result--they are really so much more attractive this way than simply plopping some mashed potates on a plate! I used full fat sour cream and cream cheese, and a good gob of butter as well. Threw in some chopped chives, baked them in a gratin dish, then garnished them with more chives and, yes, more butter. Beautiful presentation for the lowly mashed potato! If I had been more ambitious, I would have taken it a step further and piped the potatoes into the dish with a decorating tip. Next time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
OH MY! These are divine! (Did I just say divine? Yes! I did!) They were a hit at my dinner gathering...everyone liked the slightly different texture the baking gave it. I followed the recipe exactly, adding just a few bits of butter to the top before baking. What a wonderful side dish! Don't make them TOO far in advance or the top will get crackly and a little dry. **I LOVE the subtle onion flavor. I usually use garlic, so this was a great way to get me to change it up. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made these as directed except for the onion salt (because I didn't have any) and I didn't bake them. I used garlic salt instead. My husband and I loved these. I think a little chedder cheese sprinkled on top while still hot would make them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My daughter and I made these last night w/ Caramel Pork Chops and Green bean bundles. With the addition of some more salt, we got rave reviews!! I was told, "It was the best dinner I've ever had," "You get an A++!" I received the compliments that I pass on to you! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I always use a recipe very similar to this for my holiday mashed potatoes. It's a great way to get things done ahead of time when cooking a holiday dinner. I ALWAYS use less cream cheese and sour cream than called for in the recipe and add milk until they are a little thinner in consistency than I like them when served. They come out much better when adding the milk. KD in Massachusetts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I always add at least sour cream to my mashed potatoes along with heavy cream, butter, salt and white pepper. I've also made this recipe exactly and it is (cream cheese then bake) delicious! There are many ways to "dress up" mashed potatoes. Try some finely chopped salami and parmesan cheese before baking as well. DELICIOUSO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States