Creamy Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Very good flavor! It's a little thick though. Next time I'll add some milk to make it a little creamier and fluffier--and probably use a 9 by 13 pan. It almost didn't fit in my 9 by 9.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I make this for every Thanksgiving and Christmas meal that I make. I don't put it into the oven for the length of time noted and sometimes it never makes it into the oven but it is still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very good, however i added some shredded cheddar and bacon bits to the mix. they were a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
These were very tasty and easy to prepare. I used garlic powder, onion powder, salt, pepper, regular sour cream, and regular cream cheese. I will make these again but try to lessen the fat content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I make these all the time. However; I don't bake them at the end. I just mix the boiled potatoes, margarine, sour cream, chream cheese, and pepper together and then serve. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I always add at least sour cream to my mashed potatoes along with heavy cream, butter, salt and white pepper. I've also made this recipe exactly and it is (cream cheese then bake) delicious! There are many ways to "dress up" mashed potatoes. Try some finely chopped salami and parmesan cheese before baking as well. DELICIOUSO!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I always use a recipe very similar to this for my holiday mashed potatoes. It's a great way to get things done ahead of time when cooking a holiday dinner. I ALWAYS use less cream cheese and sour cream than called for in the recipe and add milk until they are a little thinner in consistency than I like them when served. They come out much better when adding the milk. KD in Massachusetts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
My daughter and I made these last night w/ Caramel Pork Chops and Green bean bundles. With the addition of some more salt, we got rave reviews!! I was told, "It was the best dinner I've ever had," "You get an A++!" I received the compliments that I pass on to you! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I made these as directed except for the onion salt (because I didn't have any) and I didn't bake them. I used garlic salt instead. My husband and I loved these. I think a little chedder cheese sprinkled on top while still hot would make them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenD2006RN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Versailles, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
OH MY! These are divine! (Did I just say divine? Yes! I did!) They were a hit at my dinner gathering...everyone liked the slightly different texture the baking gave it. I followed the recipe exactly, adding just a few bits of butter to the top before baking. What a wonderful side dish! Don't make them TOO far in advance or the top will get crackly and a little dry. **I LOVE the subtle onion flavor. I usually use garlic, so this was a great way to get me to change it up. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States