Creamy Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
These were fabulous! Will be making these for Thanksgiving this year. I used russets. Great full flavored dish, the additions just bring out the potato flavor even more. I did add 2 fresh cloves garlic to potatoes while cooking and smashed them along with the potatoes. On Thanksgiving I like to pre-make as much dishes as possible to lighten the time in kitchen on the holiday. I will be pre-making these the day before this year, put in large foil pan and reheat on the day of. I'll post how they turn out. Added edit:2/24/2012 WOW! these turned out soooo good as a pre-made dish and reheated next day! Best mashed potato recipe ever! I don't make my mashed potatoes any other way now. These are exceptional! Even when I don't have time to bake them they still are fabulous, however, the baking does lend a richer flavor to them. Thank you Megan for sharing a top notch recipe with all of us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
These are delicious!!! I used reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream and the potatoes were still rich and creamy. I can't wait to make these again. Served with brown sugar meatloaf from this site and it was the ultimate comfort meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This dish was amazing! I made it as the recipe says and it was delicious. Then I tweeked it a bit for my families tastes. I replaced the cream cheese with shredded cheddar cheese, and used red potatoes in place of the typical white/yellow. I suggest trying both ways! Or maybe coming up with something yourself! I think i'll throw in some chives next time....mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Made these for dinner tonight, everyone loved them! I followed the recipe except I added a few garlic cloves to the boiling water and mashed right with the potato's. I didn't have time to put them in the oven, and they seemed dense enough without doing so, I was afraid they would turn out to dry. I used Idaho potato's, maybe a different kind of potato would have a different result. I will definitely make these again and will try red potato's sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
A+ Delicious! BEST MASHED POTATOES I HAVE EVER EATEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
i added a little cheese. who knew mashed potatoes could taste so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I didn't bake and instead of onion salt I used a little garlic powder and it came out excellent. I would say the best smashed potatoes I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaSuga

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Wow these are very good and go great with grilled steak! I used red potatoes and didn't pother peeling them, added a little butter, onion powder vs. onion salt, skipped the additional baking as I didn't see the need for it - creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
These were a big hit with my family last night. I did use less sour cream & added some butter. Lots of fresh garlic & pepper. We don't eat salt (although I did buy the wrong butter & picked up salted). Everyone loved them. I made some baked carrots while these were cooking & it was great to have everything hot & ready to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I've been doing my mashed potatoes this way for years and years. Only difference in ingredients is that I use garlic powder and white pepper. Since I now have a very small kitchen and only one oven, I've started using the crock pot to keep them warm instead of letting them take up valuable oven space. We all like them better this way, they stay creamier in the crock pot, the oven tends to dry them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States