Creamy Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Made these to go with chicken and noodles for a comforting dinner. I did add some butter and milk, only because they were really thick and I couldn't stir them! I used onion powder instead of onion salt. Yummy, but very thick and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
These were good. Nothing spectacular but easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I didn't think these mashed potatoes were anything special. I felt the potatoes were a little dry from the lack of liquid added to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These were great potatoes. I used small Yukon potatoes and left the skin on while smashing. In addition I left out the regular salt as the onion salt was enough for my family and also added about 4 cloves of minced garlic. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
If God made mashed potatoes, he would use this recipe. Delicious and decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by socalkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I add a little bit of hidden valley ranch dip powder, but they are good without it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Goodman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I made just enough to serve the two of us tonight. I boiled the russet potatoes in chicken stock with one garlic clove, which I later mashed together with the potatoes. I used reduced-fat cream cheese, full fat sour cream and butter as it’s what I had on hand. I also threw in some minced fresh chives. I piped the fluffy mashed potatoes into a small casserole dish and baked them uncovered for 35 minutes. These resulted in a different texture but pretty creamy smashed potatoes. The top of the mashed potatoes were baked crispy with brown edges and looked so appetizing. I garnished them with more fresh chives. This was rich, creamy, delicious and eye appealing (see my picture in the photo gallery). I served this with, “Chicken Biscuit Pie,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were good and even my cream cheese and sour cream haters ate them. I did have comments that the consistency is different than regular mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
add a little more sour cream and cream cheese, delicious! I also kept the skin on and added butter, complete hit in my house! I have been thinking of adding bits of bacon to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Pefect potatoes! Justed added a splash of milk and one tablespoon of butter in addition to recipe. My husband and two girls gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States