Creamy Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Made these to go with chicken and noodles for a comforting dinner. I did add some butter and milk, only because they were really thick and I couldn't stir them! I used onion powder instead of onion salt. Yummy, but very thick and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
These were good. Nothing spectacular but easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I didn't think these mashed potatoes were anything special. I felt the potatoes were a little dry from the lack of liquid added to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
These were great potatoes. I used small Yukon potatoes and left the skin on while smashing. In addition I left out the regular salt as the onion salt was enough for my family and also added about 4 cloves of minced garlic. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
If God made mashed potatoes, he would use this recipe. Delicious and decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by socalkelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I add a little bit of hidden valley ranch dip powder, but they are good without it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greg Goodman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I made just enough to serve the two of us tonight. I boiled the russet potatoes in chicken stock with one garlic clove, which I later mashed together with the potatoes. I used reduced-fat cream cheese, full fat sour cream and butter as it’s what I had on hand. I also threw in some minced fresh chives. I piped the fluffy mashed potatoes into a small casserole dish and baked them uncovered for 35 minutes. These resulted in a different texture but pretty creamy smashed potatoes. The top of the mashed potatoes were baked crispy with brown edges and looked so appetizing. I garnished them with more fresh chives. This was rich, creamy, delicious and eye appealing (see my picture in the photo gallery). I served this with, “Chicken Biscuit Pie,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
These were good and even my cream cheese and sour cream haters ate them. I did have comments that the consistency is different than regular mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
add a little more sour cream and cream cheese, delicious! I also kept the skin on and added butter, complete hit in my house! I have been thinking of adding bits of bacon to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Pefect potatoes! Justed added a splash of milk and one tablespoon of butter in addition to recipe. My husband and two girls gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States