Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Loved this recipe. I did change it somewhat. Instead of regular milk, I used soy milk. I also used more stock so it wasn't so thick. I also did not use the celery just because I did not have any on hand, but will try it next time. Great tasting and was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
My husband and I both loved this soup. I used a 4 qt pot, and after putting the potatoes, celery and onion in the pot, 1 cup broth was not enough; I added about 3/4 cup more. Everything else was as the recipe was written (used canned milk though). To mash the potatoes, I used my immersible blender which was perfect. The cream cheese didn't all melt, but it tasted great anyway. I'll cut the cream cheese in smaller pieces next time. Thanks for a great recipe. UPDATE 12/27/14: I used 2% milk and the soup didn't get as smooth/creamy as when using evaporated milk. Cutting the cream cheese into tiny pieces worked better. I also added 1/4 head cabbage that I had on hand and it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I love it! It took a bit longer than 5 hours to make but it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was one of the easiest soups to make. I used condensed milk similar to other reviewers and also used all gluten free ingredients, including the flour which was a gluten free all-purpose baking flour. Still yummy! I added additional broth to cover the potatoes. One batch is enough for a family of four but there's nothing left over. I quadrupled this recipe for a teacher luncheon at my daughter's school and they all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This recipe was wonderful. This was my first time making any kind of potato soup, and I couldn't have been happier. I did double the recipe, and like someone before me, I ended up using the entire box of chicken stalk, two cups was just not enough. The other thing I did was I added some well cooked bacon to the soup. I will be making this again, for sure. It was super easy. Also, because I started late, I did this stove top to cut down the cook time, and it was still amazing. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentone, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My family liked this potato soup. I think next time I will modify the chicken stock and add a little more. Didn't seem like it was enough liquid for the potatoes to cook. Other than that... good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I made the recipe as is, without doubling it, because there's just the two of us here. I found the flour/milk mixture wasn't thickening quite as fast as I wanted it to so I added a bit of instant mashed potatoes to hurry it up. Then it got too thick so I added more milk to make it the right consistency. Other than that, I made it exactly as written by the original submitter. The only thing I'll change when I make it again is I'll cut the cream cheese down to half. I could taste it too much in the soup and although I like it okay, I don't want my potato soup to taste most like cream cheese. I think if I cut back on that and don't add the mashed potatoes, the listed milk will probably be about right for us. Otherwise, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very very good! I made it exactly as written. I do question the technique of "stirring until thickened" after adding the milk/flour. Perhaps she meant stir until blended? It's not going to actually thicken until heated, and being a crock pot, after adding 1 1/2 cups of something cold, it's not going to be heated for quite a while. Only thing I will do different next time is add the ham along with the potatoes n the beginning. My ham wasn't "left over" and hadn't been previously cooked (although I know all ham is sold 'precooked'), and I think my ham would have been more tender if it had cooked longer. But all in all, terrific recipe. Thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Easy and if you follow the directions given, it will blow you out of this world. Initially, I doubled the ingredients; ate half and froze the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I doubled this recipe and it fed our family of 3 big eaters and 3 small eaters with a few servings left over for lunch the next day. The only changes I made were 2 use evaporated milk instead of regular milk and 1/3 less fat cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States