Creamy Slow Cooker Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I didn't have chicken broth or stock on hand, but used a packet of poultry gravy mix for thickener instead of the flour. I also substituted plain greek style yogurt for the cream cheese. The yogurt adds a nice tang without the fat of the cream cheese. This is a very good basic recipe to add to or substitute as you like. I will make this again with broccoli stalks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Potatoes didn't cook. I had to take them out & cook them I on the stove, then put them back in the crock pot. They were diced small.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Planned on the slow cooker method, but ran out of time. Doubled the recipe except for meat and did it stove top. Added a little extra broth, enough to cover all the potatoes, etc. Worked great! Added carrots to the potatoes and added broccoli and curry just before adding the flour mixture. It was wonderful! Thank you for sharing it! It's versatile so you can tweak it as much or as little as you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaM
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I made this on the stove instead of the crockpot and made a few changes. Most people suggested ham or bacon but I added diced chicken and broccoli. I used a bag of diced hash brown potatoes instead of fresh potatoes. I also added chopped onions and red and green peppers. One comment I saw the writer had complained of the soup being too thick. I was raised on thick potato soup. If it gets too thick, then add milk or water which is what I did the next day when we ate the rest. This is a good base soup and I will make this again and maybe add cheese or other veggies too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
This was my fist time making anything like this and even though I added extra spices and didn't have any cream cheese at my house so I just used cheader it came out great, should probly leave some for the rest of my family and not eat it all though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Easy and super delicious! Huge hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
The BF and I loved it! It made only enough for two bowls each, and we wished I had doubled the recipe because I bet it would have tasted even more awesome tomorrow. This is definitely a keeper. I found, also, that only 1 cup of chicken stock didn't look or seem like enough, so I used 2 cups, and I used crumbled bacon instead of ham, only because that's what I had on hand. We also found that it needed a touch more salt and pepper, but other than that, it was YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TrishDHM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I cooked up a pound of turkey bacon in some butter and use that instead of ham. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
So delicious and hearty! I'd eat this every day. I didn't have ham, so used bacon instead, was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States