Creamy Skillet Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
this is my 1st time trying this recipe. It says it takes about 8 minutes for the cream to thicken but my question is~how thick does it get and does it get thicker after removing from heat? I weighed all ingredients out before hand and its been longer then 8 minutes and it is still slightly liquefied
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Never had shallots before & loved the new taste. Husband loved too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
A perfect, simple side dish to accompany our dinner tonight! I measured nothing... I used white onion since it's all I had on hand and skipped the sugar. For extra flavor and color (and cuz I know we like it), I skipped the water and let the corn and onion get a little charred before stirring in the remaining ingredients...yum! Time to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Great recipe. We added 4 oz of cream cheese to make it "creamier corn" and my kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I couldn't figure out why this didn't have a higher rating until I read closer that it calls for frozen corn. I was searching for a home made creamed corn recipe so I had fresh corn & cut it off of the cob. It was spectacular!! I was short an ear & supplemented with about a 1/2 cup frozen kernels & you could totally tell which ones came from a bag. I highly recommend using fresh. I didn't use the nutmeg cuz I wasn't in the mood but followed the rest to a tee & can't wait to serve this at holidays. The corn was the star & the shallots added amazing depth of flavor! Thank you so much! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Fat~Dog~Lane*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Nevada, USA
Living In: Spanish Springs, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I liked the base of this recipe. I added fresh garlic when I sauteed the onions (what I had), skipped the nutmeg, and added garlic salt at the finish. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JacquiB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
We hated this, I cooked it exactly to the directions and the flavors didn't mix well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
good but not great.A welcomed change to everyday corn. Everyone tried it almost everyone had seconds. It needs something to add color to the presentation. Next time I will add green chilis and some diced red pepper I would. rate this an A
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
So good I will never have plain corn again!! Followed recipe exactly and there was not one kernel left. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I've never had better frozen corn! I used onion, as I didn't have shallots and half and half instead of cream to lower the fat content. Served it with smoked pork ribs and potato salad. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States