Creamy Shrimp Stuffed Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I made it for a wedding shower, and everyone loved it. I also added bacon into the mixture. If you turn the tomatoes stem down and cut off the bottoms then scooping out the mixture, they won't roll around on your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
When I taste-tested this filling before stuffing the tomatoes, I wasn't terribly impressed, but when I tasted the tomato with the filling it just worked perfectly. This was a great way to use up the gazillion cherry tomatoes from our garden! I added a teaspoon of prepared pesto into the mixture and they became addictive! It took more than 2 pints of tomatoes to use up the mixture. Maybe my tomatoes were small. Thanks for the recipe, DeltaQueen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
These were great, used them for a summer barbeque. I didn't use any seafood because of allergies, but considered using canned crabmeat. Instead of parsley on top I used chopped chives. Emptying the tomatoes was easy because I used a melon baller. A little timely, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Unfortuately when I went to make this recipe, every grocery store in a 5 mile radius was out of cherry tomatoes. I was really looking forward to this so I still made the filling (I also added 1 tablespoon Old Bay) and served it with sour dough bread. It was a hit at the BBQ I took it to. I'll definately make it again. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blossom
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
These were wonderful little morsels! It was very easy to make. I added fresh garlic, and a little tabasco sauce. Sprinkled with Lawry's. I tried putting a spring of cilantro on one and that was tasty fresh, too. It was really easy to fill them with The Pampered Chef's Easy Accent Decorator that I sell. Also used the Cook's Corer to dig out the pulp. Makes alot if the tomatoes are smaller. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Fabulous & easy! I took other's advice and added some Old Bay. It was PHENOMENAL... the tomatoes weren't hard at all (I prepped everything the night before & assembled the next day) and my extra went GREAT on ritz crackers! I'll probably forego the tomatoes next time & just do the crackers w/ dip. It was GREAT! I put all the dip into a large ziploc bag to sit in the fridge overnight. The next day, I arranged my tomatoes, snipped the corner off the bag & piped as normal. Easy clean up! ;) Thanks, Delta Queen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Yankee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I just love these! And they always disappear quickly when I make them for potluck staff meetings. If for home, no shrimp as hubby desn't eat most seafood, but that makes them better when I do have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tsawwassen, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I made these for my daughter's birthday party last week. These are a little fiddly but well worth the effort. I garnished with snipped chives instead of parsley and made double the recipe which made a lot more than stated. this was good as I was feeding 90 people. A definite hit and I had 2 phone calls asking me for the recipe the following day. Many Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
These are terrific. I made them the night before and had a hard time trying to restrain myself from eating just one more. Each time I messed one up, I said, YES!!! Seriously - I left out the salt/pepper and instead added 1 Tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning and it was fantastic!! Im sure you could use some Creole seasoning as well, but the Old Bay really tied the flavors together and made it salty enough so that no extra salt was needed. I highly recommend it! Good Luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I always like to follow a recipe as written and make any alterations to the recipe, if it was worth a second try, after tasting it once. That said, I made this recipe when I needed to bring something to a cookout and I found tomatoes on sale. I followed the recipe exactly as written BUT I left out the shrimp. (some people are allergic to shellfish and I didn't want to have to post warnings about my contribution to the table especially when the ingredients are not obvious) It was a hit. They were tasty, refreshing little morsels to pop in your mouth. Next time I will try it with a little finely chopped onion or scallions and of course, shrimp. Nice recipe, DeltaQueen 50. To the reviewer below. I cleaned the tomatoes and made the cheese filling the night before. Next day, construction was a breeze. You have the right idea about the greens for a "bed to nest" the tomatoes on. Next time try to julienne or finely shred a few lettuce/romaine/cabbage leaves to make a "fluffier bed" for them to nest upon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States