Creamy Shrimp Stuffed Cherry Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I made it for a wedding shower, and everyone loved it. I also added bacon into the mixture. If you turn the tomatoes stem down and cut off the bottoms then scooping out the mixture, they won't roll around on your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I always like to follow a recipe as written and make any alterations to the recipe, if it was worth a second try, after tasting it once. That said, I made this recipe when I needed to bring something to a cookout and I found tomatoes on sale. I followed the recipe exactly as written BUT I left out the shrimp. (some people are allergic to shellfish and I didn't want to have to post warnings about my contribution to the table especially when the ingredients are not obvious) It was a hit. They were tasty, refreshing little morsels to pop in your mouth. Next time I will try it with a little finely chopped onion or scallions and of course, shrimp. Nice recipe, DeltaQueen 50. To the reviewer below. I cleaned the tomatoes and made the cheese filling the night before. Next day, construction was a breeze. You have the right idea about the greens for a "bed to nest" the tomatoes on. Next time try to julienne or finely shred a few lettuce/romaine/cabbage leaves to make a "fluffier bed" for them to nest upon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Just average for us. Hubs and I were both disappointed that we could barely taste the shrimp. If I make these again, I would "up" the amount of shrimp big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
What a great way to use up leftover shrimp! I took what was left from Christmas Eve out of the freezer and whipped up this pretty little appetizer for our dinner party last night. I did, however, add garlic and onion powder and a bit of cayenne. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Fabulous & easy! I took other's advice and added some Old Bay. It was PHENOMENAL... the tomatoes weren't hard at all (I prepped everything the night before & assembled the next day) and my extra went GREAT on ritz crackers! I'll probably forego the tomatoes next time & just do the crackers w/ dip. It was GREAT! I put all the dip into a large ziploc bag to sit in the fridge overnight. The next day, I arranged my tomatoes, snipped the corner off the bag & piped as normal. Easy clean up! ;) Thanks, Delta Queen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Yankee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
These are terrific. I made them the night before and had a hard time trying to restrain myself from eating just one more. Each time I messed one up, I said, YES!!! Seriously - I left out the salt/pepper and instead added 1 Tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning and it was fantastic!! Im sure you could use some Creole seasoning as well, but the Old Bay really tied the flavors together and made it salty enough so that no extra salt was needed. I highly recommend it! Good Luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
Very good and very easy...plus, it can be made ahead of time. I used the small bay-type shrimp since it was going thru the food processor. It was a hit with the group I made it for. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
When I taste-tested this filling before stuffing the tomatoes, I wasn't terribly impressed, but when I tasted the tomato with the filling it just worked perfectly. This was a great way to use up the gazillion cherry tomatoes from our garden! I added a teaspoon of prepared pesto into the mixture and they became addictive! It took more than 2 pints of tomatoes to use up the mixture. Maybe my tomatoes were small. Thanks for the recipe, DeltaQueen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
A great summer time appetizer for warm summer party easy to prepare, the taste is fresh and cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Had an abundance of cherry tomatoes in my garden. This recipe was worth the work of cleaning out these little fellas. I am allergic to shrimp but not crab so I used canned crab meat instead. Delicious! Took them to a family gathering and they were gone in minutes! Even my grandchildren loved them. They are still asking when I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Sausage-Stuffed Cherry Pepper Poppers

See how to make cherry peppers stuffed with Italian sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States