Creamy Shrimp Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Shrimp was overcooked in the process - what do you expect when it needs to be in the oven for an hr :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I tried it tonight and found it a little blank. It needs garlic or something to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
My husband found this recipe and when he showed it to me I was skeptical. 3 cups of milk and cream, no real seasoning to add extra flavour and in the oven for over an hour?!? But he is new since retiring to this cooking thing, so I was supportive. I'm sorry to say this was awful. Not even palatable, AWFUL. Overcooked, not any flavour, shrimp are tough and it's baked for so long that the milk/cream mixture is nonexistent. Look elsewhere. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cps15
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Really good. I added some Italian seasoning to the sauce for some added flavor (dry oregano, parsley and basil mix). I think the crackers added a nice crunch when not crushed so finely. With those additions our whole family and my picky best friend loved it! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was so excited to try this tonight, but I must have done a few things wrong. I used the "adjustment" feature to automatically recalculate the ingredients, as I was making this for only two people (and I don't have a 9 x 13 dish). Perhaps the numbers were not quite accurate? It was incredibly dry and lacked a lot of flavor. Because I was using a smaller dish, I did reduce the cooking time to about 25 minutes, but I could see as it was cooking that the pasta layer on the bottom did not have any sauce on it. I took other reviewers' suggestions and threw a few smashed garlic cloves in with the butter when making the sauce, and I also added 2T of parmesan and a generous amount of pepper. It was still very bland. I refuse to give up and will try this recipe again, as I love ALL of the ingredients, but I will study more reviews and see if I can tweak it a bit to make it creamier and more flavorful. Perhaps a little curry might do the trick. Anyone tried curry? Also, there was no heavy cream at my grocery store so I substituted sour cream instead (which, sadly, is very "runny" here in the Philippines - not thick like it is in the U.S.). That could have caused another problem? I will try it again and update my review. Thanks for posting -- everyone else loves the dish, so I'm sure it's my mistake(s) that caused this! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Very good as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
My family liked this recipe and when we had leftovers they tasted even better so I would consider making this the day before I wanted it and sticking it in the fridge. It did end up taking a lot more than 20 minutes of prep time though! My changes were to thicken with cornstarch instead of flour, and like others, I added more and different vegetables. I did not have cream so I substituted. What I did to make it not so bland was to brown some minced garlic in the butter and I used dried chopped onion. Additionally, I didn't have any crackers on hand, but I did have some leftover cornbread from the previous morning, so I crumbled that and it worked out. Next time I might consider browning fresh chopped onion with the garlic, possibly using a dash of chili powder, and I might throw in a can of beans to up the protein content. I will not skip the cream next time as I think the richness will increase the flavor. Definitely sticking with the cornbread topping and may throw a dash of Parmesan on top too. Going into my "Fish on Friday" file permanently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bwdiaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great recipe, my family loves it. Going to add bay scallops to it next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homer, New York, USA
Living In: Hull, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very interesting combination. We liked it, though. I used milk rather than cream, just because I don't usually keep it around. We will probably make this again, and maybe up the spices. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
It's a great recipe for a base but its quite bland. I added old bay to the water for the shrimp, and cooked the noodles in a separate pot. I sauteed two crushed cloves of garlic in the butter before adding the flour, and added black pepper and a dash of dehydrated onions (I have a picky eater that won't eat onions any other way). I also added parmesan to the crushed crackers too. Mega hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States