Creamy Shrimp and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
very yummy and was an instant hit in our house! I will cook it again- simply loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunkisst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Very good basic recipe... as many others did, I doctored this up a bit. Used a large vidalia onion and cooked in butter not margarine. Used one 8 oz bottle of clam juice as a replacement for half the chicken broth- this was a VERY good idea, nice flavor. Used full fat celery soup and 2% milk to end up with a creamier soup. Also added large raw (peeled and deveined) shrimp about 10 minutes before the end of cook time and not with the onion at the begining. Didn't want to overcook them. Added some creole seasoning (not too much) and a dash of cayenne for some nice heat. Very good! Will try added potatoes next time and fresh corn instead of frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Excellent! I added 2 gloves of garlic while the onion and shrimp were sauted and old bay. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was so easy to make and it really had a lot of flavor. I made it just as written except that I omitted the nutmeg (don't like it) and used cooked shrimp instead of raw. I just threw the shrimp in at the end. Thanks for the great recipe. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
As others have said, a very good "base" recipe. I start the soup with 1/2 c. margarine, in which I saute the onion (I actually use frozen seasoning blend-onion, celery, peppers) and 2 cloves wirth of chopped garlic. Once softened, I sprinkle with about 2T. flou, and then break it with about 3/4c milk. In go the soups, chicken broth, milk, spices and corn. I add about a tsp. of crab and shrimp boil and, if I want the soup to be a bit heartier, I put in diced potatoes. Let them slow cook in the soup and stir frequently. Once the potatoes have softened, I add the shrimp. They only need to be cooked about 5-7 minutes. Overcooked shrimp are yucky! It only takes me about 40 minutes to cook and turn out much better. Not as "canned" tasting. Oh, and cut some green onions in right before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a great shortcut recipe. I used what was in my kitchen -- condensed clam chowder, evaporated milk, fresh corn and shrimp stock. Easy on the rosemary -- it's a strong herb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was fantastic! I'm giving it 4 stars because the shrimp needed to be put in the last 5 minutes, NOT cooked with the oinions. Also used cream of shrimp in place of cream of chicken. Easy, delicious, and healthy! What more can you ask?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I ommitted the celery soup. I added chopped celery, Old Bay, Cayanne pepper, I used 1T butter instead of 1/4 c. margerine. only 1/2 onion. and added garlic. The second batch I added a can of lump crab meat. Both batches were awesome! Had a family over for dinner and they loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karyn Steele Blaney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Strongsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
So delicious! I took someone's advice and exchanged cream of shrimp soup for the cream of chicken. Very good. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
buy uncooked shrimp and add it toward the end so it doesn't get tough dice new potatoes and boil 5 minutes the add to pot less rosemary, add chili pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States