Creamy Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
DELICIOUS! I did par boil my potatoes a bit, just so they would cook more evenly, but other than that, followed the recipe exactly. I do think this could use a bit of salt, but that's my personal preference. Great, subtle flavors that blend very well together. This could not be easier...a definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very tastey! I added a can of cream of celery soup, some onion, and some garlic spice to the milk and cream cheese. I also topped it with grated cheese and cooked it to a golden brown. So very YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I accidentally put the parmasean cheese in with the cream and milk, but no problem. I also added a little flour, thinly sliced onions, and a little shredded cheddar cheese in each layer. For the last few minutes I added more cheddar on top. It was wonderful! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Best scalloped potatoes we have had. I didn't have the garlic cream cheese so used a tub of regular low fat cream cheese and garlic powder. Mixed parmesan and cheddar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I cook for a fraternity and I made this in a huge batch to go with a steak dinner. The boys went crazy for it and I couldn't believe how simple it was! The only thing I did differently was that I used heavy cream instead of milk and I loaded it with Parmesan. Very creamy potatoes were the result! I will definitely use this for all future batches of scalloped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cyn D
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Yummy! Substituted 8oz cream cheese & 4 cloves minced fresh garlic...added breadcrumbs to the top & uses 1 1/2c parmesan cheese. Baked on convection setting at 325F for 2hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This is now the recipe I will always use for scalloped potatoes. I didn't have the cooking cream, so I used a block of regular cream cheese and 2 teaspoons of garlic mixed together in the food processor. This was not too rich, but just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I followed all the directions and they tasted terrible. It's not worth the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle Clark
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
First time I've made scalloped potatoes not in a box! Super easy for cooks that are learning (like me)! As I'm only cooking for 2, I only needed 1 potato. Thankfully, the app adjusts the serving size. With the help of the commentors, I was able to play around with the recipe. I didn't have the cream cheese mentioned, so I used what I had. Whipped cream cheese and then added garlic powder. I used a 6 cheese Italian blend, cream of celery soup, and red onion. When I tasted it, all I could do was smile. DELICIOUS! My bf who has only had scalloped potatoes with cheddar loved it as well. Don't think I'll ever use a box again. Thank You All!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States