Creamy Scallop Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Much like the others I changed it up a bit. I added 2 cans of whole baby clams, well drained and rinsed very well, one pint of heavy cream, and nearly triple the flour to make sure it was nice and thick. When doing the flour, add it a little bit at a time and make sure you get ALL the lumps out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is a good base but it is definitely not thick enough to be called a chowder. I've modified it and my husband loves it. I added clams in addition to the scallops, I also use heavy cream alongside the milk to give it a creamier texture. I also used flour generously to thicken it, making sure to cook it down so that it didn't turn into a paste. With a little modification, this can turn into a fantastic dish that is perfect for the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Delicious recipe, but I did have to add additional liquid to give it a more appealing consistency. Instead of just adding more milk though, I punched it up with low sodium chicken broth (about 1 cup) and some additional wine. Also, I didn't have green onions on hand so I used 1/2 of a white onion, very finely minced and sauteed in the butter. The results were a hearty thick soup that wasn't as rich as it would have been with just milk. I think the addition of the chicken broth enhanced the flavor of the soup and gave it a texture that wasn't too rich, but rich enough to be fabulous. I left out the cheese completely. The flavor of the soup by itself was so wonderful that I didn't want to alter it by adding cheese. The whole family approved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great recipe and very delicious. The addition of wine really added to the flavor. The only sadness of this was how quickly it got eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Fourqurean

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
As a baseline recipe, this is excellent. I would post a custom version...but the free membership won't allow for it....so here are my customizations: Substitute half and half for milk. I added canned baby clams and clam juice but basically followed the directions in this recipe. It came out FANTASTIC. If you are a person who doesn't like bacon in your chowder (as I am).....this will please your palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
this chowder is great, and very easy to customize, personally i dont use a whole pound of scallops, i use about a half pound and mix in some artichoke heart and a little crawfish meat.. its great.. however the best way to change this recipe's taste is to change the cheese that you use.. i have yet to even use swiss cheese, i use gouda mostly.. its fantastic.. i heartily recommend this recipe, its quick, easy, and fun to play with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex Cain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I didn't think this was bad. The kids on the other had didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yum! I made some small adjustments, added potatoes, shredded 1/2 carrot for color, 1 cup of wine & added shrimp in the last few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I was going to GIVE UP on ever cooking with scallops again! everything I tried had been a complete flop! but this renewed my faith in scallops, I used bay scallops and I ate the whole dish myself, even though I had promised my husband he could take some to work with him! I couldn't help myself. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This recipe was simple and easy to make. I modified the recipe and added carrots instead of mushrooms. I think i will add potatoes next time as well. I also added some garlic powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelsea_stevenson

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States