Creamy Sage Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Wonderful. And if you want, you can really dress this up. I love the sage flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Oh how I love how this sauce turned out! It is a lighter flavored sauce so don't serve it with anything too over powering. I used this recipe as a base to go off of... I also added some flour for a rue, because I used half and half instead of heavy cream. I also added sauteed mushrooms and some parmesan cheese. I also let some baby spinach cook in the sauce before serving. All of it really complemented the sage, which is the star of this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great taste! I added flour to the mix in the beginning. If you do this, make sure you only add a little because as it heats it thickens. It won't thicken right away. Excellent recipe and VERY rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was excellent! I was trying to find recipes for the different herbs I grew this year and so happy I came across this one. Tried with chicken and fettuccine noodles and was so tummy! Going to try it with shrimp and angel hair pasta next and cant wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Very good and rich sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
this simple sauce has such a wonderful delicate flavor. made a couple times now and it's been a real crowd pleaser every time. i didn't realize what a great flavor fresh sage has! tossed it with angel hair baby peas and sauteed mushrooms with a sprinkle of parm at he end. make sure you just barely undercook your pasta by a minute then it will finish cooking once you add the hot sauce, absorb the liquid in the sauce and thicken it. i wouldn't add a thickener unless you are looking for a pasta-roni effect. ew. recipe is wonderful as is i think it's really just as good with half and half and 1/2 a stick of butter but it IS sage butter sauce and not a diet food so who cares. thank you for this recipe it's going to be a favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Very easy to make and goes very well with the Talapia fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
It has a great flavor but adding the flour makes it like gravy over pasta. not that i dont love my gravy....... but its no sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This Sauce is so easy! The flavor is perfect for any pasta! I did add flour as a reviewer suggested to help thicken just a bit. I did not have chicken broth in the cabinet so I used a couple vegetable bouillons to 1/2 cup of water and it was beautiful! I added red pepper flakes with garlic powder. When using for salmon I added a couple drops of lemon juice. This sauce is versatile for anything your taste buds want to add! My favorite sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Wilkesboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ronda, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Delicious. I have served over chicken and over sirloin steaks. I added the whole pint of cream to make thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artstar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States