Creamy Sage Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I made exactly how the recipe is written and put over butternut squash raviolis. It tasted great but next time I make it, I will add flour to make it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
This is a delightful sauce, it was developed a couple of hundred years ago when many courses were the norm for the upper classes. Modern day American's, please don't try to make this a gravy, or a one course moistening agent for pasta. This sauce is to be spooned by the tablespoon over fish or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
I made this sauce for some butternut squash ravioli I had in the freezer. I liked the thinness of the sauce for the ravioli (added pecans and sage leaves for garnish). I plan on using this recipe from now on as it's such a great base and has so much potential in other recipes so thickening it may be an option. My butter began to brown a bit which I think added a nice element to the sauce. My only alteration was to add a bit of freshly ground nutmeg to compliment the butternut squash in the ravioli. A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I tried this recipe and thought I was way to thin. So I added the left overs from the other night to a rue witch made it much better for tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dennysville, Maine, USA
Living In: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
easy and crowd-pleasing. kids dig it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan Naramore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Wonderful. And if you want, you can really dress this up. I love the sage flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Oh how I love how this sauce turned out! It is a lighter flavored sauce so don't serve it with anything too over powering. I used this recipe as a base to go off of... I also added some flour for a rue, because I used half and half instead of heavy cream. I also added sauteed mushrooms and some parmesan cheese. I also let some baby spinach cook in the sauce before serving. All of it really complemented the sage, which is the star of this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great taste! I added flour to the mix in the beginning. If you do this, make sure you only add a little because as it heats it thickens. It won't thicken right away. Excellent recipe and VERY rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
This was excellent! I was trying to find recipes for the different herbs I grew this year and so happy I came across this one. Tried with chicken and fettuccine noodles and was so tummy! Going to try it with shrimp and angel hair pasta next and cant wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Very good and rich sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States