Creamy Sage Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Sage leaves should be chopped prior to adding to the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
After reading the reviews, I added flour to the butter mixture right off the bat. About 1 1/2 tbsp. Stirred it well and cooked it slightly before adding the broth first slowly, then the crem slowly. The flavor of the sage leaves was wonderful. I added just a dash more of dried sage. Served it over chicken cordon bleu. Gave it a rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I served this over acorn squash gnocci. Delicious! I used half the butter and started with a rue for extra creamy thickness. Also added fresh parm at the end. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This delicious sauce was simple to make and my picky teen loved it! I poured it over angel hair pasta, stir fried veggies and chicken breast. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
loved this recipe,I added flour to the butter at start for a rue to thicken it and used it over biscuits with crumbled sausage and eggs on them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Made this for my picky eaters and it was a hit! Will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Delicious. I have served over chicken and over sirloin steaks. I added the whole pint of cream to make thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artstar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This Sauce is so easy! The flavor is perfect for any pasta! I did add flour as a reviewer suggested to help thicken just a bit. I did not have chicken broth in the cabinet so I used a couple vegetable bouillons to 1/2 cup of water and it was beautiful! I added red pepper flakes with garlic powder. When using for salmon I added a couple drops of lemon juice. This sauce is versatile for anything your taste buds want to add! My favorite sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Wilkesboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ronda, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
this simple sauce has such a wonderful delicate flavor. made a couple times now and it's been a real crowd pleaser every time. i didn't realize what a great flavor fresh sage has! tossed it with angel hair baby peas and sauteed mushrooms with a sprinkle of parm at he end. make sure you just barely undercook your pasta by a minute then it will finish cooking once you add the hot sauce, absorb the liquid in the sauce and thicken it. i wouldn't add a thickener unless you are looking for a pasta-roni effect. ew. recipe is wonderful as is i think it's really just as good with half and half and 1/2 a stick of butter but it IS sage butter sauce and not a diet food so who cares. thank you for this recipe it's going to be a favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Very good and rich sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States