Creamy Sage Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Sage leaves should be chopped prior to adding to the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
loved this recipe,I added flour to the butter at start for a rue to thicken it and used it over biscuits with crumbled sausage and eggs on them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
After reading the reviews, I added flour to the butter mixture right off the bat. About 1 1/2 tbsp. Stirred it well and cooked it slightly before adding the broth first slowly, then the crem slowly. The flavor of the sage leaves was wonderful. I added just a dash more of dried sage. Served it over chicken cordon bleu. Gave it a rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I served this over acorn squash gnocci. Delicious! I used half the butter and started with a rue for extra creamy thickness. Also added fresh parm at the end. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nairie
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Modifications: + Used Parmesan cheese and doubled the chicken broth as I didn't have heavy cream (as suggested in another review) + Used my spice and nut grinder to mince the sage leaves instead of chopping + Added a dash of flour to thicken the sauce. Review: I thought it was a good sage based sauce but a little on the buttery side for me. Will make again, but with less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nairie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
this simple sauce has such a wonderful delicate flavor. made a couple times now and it's been a real crowd pleaser every time. i didn't realize what a great flavor fresh sage has! tossed it with angel hair baby peas and sauteed mushrooms with a sprinkle of parm at he end. make sure you just barely undercook your pasta by a minute then it will finish cooking once you add the hot sauce, absorb the liquid in the sauce and thicken it. i wouldn't add a thickener unless you are looking for a pasta-roni effect. ew. recipe is wonderful as is i think it's really just as good with half and half and 1/2 a stick of butter but it IS sage butter sauce and not a diet food so who cares. thank you for this recipe it's going to be a favorite for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berrien Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
It has a great flavor but adding the flour makes it like gravy over pasta. not that i dont love my gravy....... but its no sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: North Branch, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I used the pan drippings from a whole baked chicken instead of broth, added a little less butter, used some flour to thicken, added milk since I didn't have cream. (will try next time) put the leftover chicken into sauce, to have another meal (over biscuits!) so easy, and a nice change from gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Santos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poynette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Not too bad, and simple to make. Ladled the sauce over rotini pasta, added flour like the previous reader suggested to thicken, and added just a little curry spice and sugar in the raw to complement the subtle sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
This Sauce is so easy! The flavor is perfect for any pasta! I did add flour as a reviewer suggested to help thicken just a bit. I did not have chicken broth in the cabinet so I used a couple vegetable bouillons to 1/2 cup of water and it was beautiful! I added red pepper flakes with garlic powder. When using for salmon I added a couple drops of lemon juice. This sauce is versatile for anything your taste buds want to add! My favorite sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Wilkesboro, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ronda, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States