Creamy Sage Butter Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This delicious sauce was simple to make and my picky teen loved it! I poured it over angel hair pasta, stir fried veggies and chicken breast. Restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Very good, and so easy to make. I used light cream instead of heavy cream, to save some calories; and used a bit of flour to thicken as others had suggested. It went together well, with the pumpkin ravioli I made. I think next time I make this, I would add a bit more sage; but that's probably just personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nairie
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Modifications: + Used Parmesan cheese and doubled the chicken broth as I didn't have heavy cream (as suggested in another review) + Used my spice and nut grinder to mince the sage leaves instead of chopping + Added a dash of flour to thicken the sauce. Review: I thought it was a good sage based sauce but a little on the buttery side for me. Will make again, but with less butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nairie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I served this over acorn squash gnocci. Delicious! I used half the butter and started with a rue for extra creamy thickness. Also added fresh parm at the end. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Sage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
After reading the reviews, I added flour to the butter mixture right off the bat. About 1 1/2 tbsp. Stirred it well and cooked it slightly before adding the broth first slowly, then the crem slowly. The flavor of the sage leaves was wonderful. I added just a dash more of dried sage. Served it over chicken cordon bleu. Gave it a rich taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This does not work at all as is, the sauce is too thin and did not thicken no matter how long I waited. I finally added flour the the mixture and got it thick enough to be functional, but I will not make this again. Though I might use some chicken broth the next time I make alfredo sauce to make it a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I did this but didnt add cream and instead added a cup of broth instead of a half and added a half cup of fresh parm cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I used the pan drippings from a whole baked chicken instead of broth, added a little less butter, used some flour to thicken, added milk since I didn't have cream. (will try next time) put the leftover chicken into sauce, to have another meal (over biscuits!) so easy, and a nice change from gravy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poynette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Not too bad, and simple to make. Ladled the sauce over rotini pasta, added flour like the previous reader suggested to thicken, and added just a little curry spice and sugar in the raw to complement the subtle sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
loved this recipe,I added flour to the butter at start for a rue to thicken it and used it over biscuits with crumbled sausage and eggs on them for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States