Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I had never made rice pudding before but had a lot of leftover rice I needed to use up so thought I'd give this a try due to the good reviews. It was absolutely delicious!!! I doubled the recipe and used 2 cups of half and half, 2 cups of 1% milk and 1 cup of sugar. It was very rich and addictive. Had it for breakfast, lunch and dinner until it was all gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Better & easier than my Mom's. I used leftover steamed rice from a Chinese take-out order, also used 1/2 cup of cream instead of milk. Cinnamon & nutmeg to taste. My husband likes his topped with sliced strawberries or raspberries! Yum. -Dessa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I've always liked rice pudding, but this gives me the recipe I need to make it at home. I use the rice cooker to make the rice (since apparently making stovetop rice is beyond me), but then follow directions as written. I tend to add extra raisins, along with cinnamon, nutmeg, and sometimes a pinch of saffron to deepen the flavor. Perfect comfort food for gray days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
It was incredible! I used sticky rice made from our rice cooker and purposefully made extra rice just for this. I didn't have raisins but used chopped dried cherries and it was the best rice pudding I've ever had! Not too sweet, perfectly thick. Also sprinkled with cinnamon and nutmeg like others have mentioned as well. Definitely worth the little bit of stirring while it thickens and will make this every time I make rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I have made this rice pudding three times now. Twice with Arborio rice, which is very soft when cooked and used for risotto; and once, this morning, with short grain brown rice, which gives it wonderful chewy texture. I love both. I use maple syrup instead of sugar, and it makes the rice pudding even creamier. I don't use raisins, but I do sprinkle some ground cinnamon on top. Fantastic. The only rice pudding recipe I'll ever need. Reminds me of childhood, but this is even better. I didn't think that was possible, but it is. Make sure you make a double batch. I can assure you that you will want to eat a double portion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Made this today, I kept everything in one pot, I didn't feel the need to go from pot to pot. But I must say, this is one of the best rice puddings I ever had. I wouldn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Amazinggg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SammiHelene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I have always been nervous about making rice pudding. I always heard that it is finicky to make but this is so easy and SOOOO DELICIOUS!! Cant wait to make this again and again! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
So easy and so tasty! Will definately make again. I did add a little "cake spice" to this, which is a mix of allspice, ginger, cinnamon, coriander, and nutmeg. Delicious! Update: I made this again using instant brown rice. I had to use 1 tsp cornstarch to help it thicken up, I am assuming because I used instant rice. I added extra cinnamon as well as raisins. It is my new favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
It was easy and delicious! Although it seemed like it was too thick once it cooled, so I did end up having to add more milk to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 3,216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States