Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
The secret to any rice pudding is the timing of the sugar. It must not be added until the rice is thoroughly cooked otherwise it will forever remain hard. Those who did not like this recipe should test the rice for tenderness before adding the sugar in the final stage of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5361 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
My daughter found this recipe on the site and decided to make it last night. Erica, I wish I could give this more than five stars because it was incredible! My dad worked for Tuscan Dairy for fifty years in Union, N.J. and they made an amazing rice pudding, which I've never been able to even nearly duplicate. Thanks to you, this is pretty close! I omitted the raisins and used skim milk because it was the only thing I had in the house. The next time Ty gets a desire to make this great dessert, I'll have her use evaporated skim milk as it really replicates a light cream or a whole milk. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2401 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Very easy. The first time I made this recipe I made it with long grain rice (not knowing the difference between long, med, and short) and half and half. Second time I made it with medium grain rice, skim milk and less sugar. The medium grain rice made a huge difference in the end product, do not make the mistake of using long grain rice the pudding will just not be the same! Also, no need to use half and half it was just as good with the skim milk---save yourself the calories! I liked it better with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2094 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Erica is my new hero! This is, without a doubt, the BEST and EASIEST rice pudding recipe I have ever made. I followed the suggestions of others and used medium grain rice and half the sugar called for. I didn't put the sugar into the pudding until it was the consistency I wanted. Remember to put some of the warm mixture into the egg and milk before SLOWLY adding it to your pot so you don't end up with "egg-drop" in your rice pudding! If you've never made rice pudding before or are looking for an excellent, easy recipe, this one is for you! Thanks, again, Erica. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
748 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I had a taste for a really good rice pudding, and this one is a keeper!!! I to added cinnamon,vanilla, and nutmeg, i also added a little more sugar! I added the salt to my boiling water that I cooked my rice in. Rice cooked without salt is hard to season. I will make this again. Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
728 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOTANIKA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Quick, easy and scrumptious! I’m not quite sure why the instructions call for the use of two saucepans, though. I just continued to use the same one the rice was cooked in. Couldn’t have been easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
703 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
This was absolutely delicious! I never made homemade rice pudding before, but I had all the ingredients and some left over rice. First of all, I buttered my rice when it was cooking in step 1. This eliminates the need for it in the later part of step 2 and lends to a richer pudding. I generally watch the fat in my recipes, so I made mine with skim milk, which added another 6 or 7 minutes on to the total cooking time. I also increased the sugar a little, as I preferred it a bit sweeter (it's a matter of preference). But the main key is to add some of cooking pudding (from the pot) to a seperate bowl with the egg and milk mixture. This brings the egg and milk mixture to a warmer, more consistant temperature to what's in the pot and prevents the egg from scrambling. After about 3 minutes mixing them together in the bowl, slowly add the egg and milk mixture to the pot and continue cooking for about 2 minutes, until thickened. Sprinkle it with a bit of cinnamon before serving. This pudding is delicious hot or cold. I will be making this recipe often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
548 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Wonderful recipe. My 3-year-old just loves it, and it turned out nice and creamy. I was skeptical, as I've always made rice pudding by cooking the rice in the milk, but it came out great-tasting, and the big bonus is that it's a great use for leftover rice! And it doesn't make too much. One warning--3/4 cup uncooked rice yields more than 1-1/2 cups cooked. I used only 1-1/2 cups cooked, and think that any more would've taken away the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
287 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
rice pudding is a tradition in my family...the men especially love it. i'm in the 4th generation of the family and this was my first attempt at making it on my own. it turned out marvelous!!! beats KozyShack brand all to bits...I doubled the recipe, used one pot, and added the vanilla and some cinnamon during the second milk addition. turned out super creamy and just sweet enough! I left out the raisins simply cuz I don't have any right now, but I will make it again and put them in! definitely will add this recipe to my collection of favorites. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky_ME

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Turner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
Simplicity in itself! I've never made rice pudding (or any other pudding before), but found myself craving it one day, so I got the easiest looking recipe and here we are! Now - I really abhor raisins so I left them out, and added half a teaspoon of cornstarch to thicken it up a bit since it needed to be a bit thicker. But, I believe taste is subjective so, take my word for it, an excellent recipe. (Oh, another thing, short-grained rice really makes a difference, at first I used long-grained and it just didn't taste right..the texture, etc.) ~Angela
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States