Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Holy cow this recipe is amazing! I took some to a friend just out of the hospital (as well as the unbelievable Pot Pie IV from this site) so she and her family could have some good old-fashioned comfort food. This definitely filled the bill. It was soooooo creamy and good. I used arborio rice as suggested by a reviewer and it definitely gave it the creaminess it deserved. I'm going to make some for us tonight - can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
This was my first recipe that I tried from Allrecipes about 9 years ago. It has been my go to rice pudding ever since! I follow the recipe as written and then add some cinnamon and nutmeg at the very end. My family can't get enough! Thanks for making me look like a fantastic cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy McCarthy Harcourt
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Very good! I added chocolate covered raisins and it gave a hint of chocolate for those who crave it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
For an Indian twist I used cardamom pods and saffron. I also substituted 1/2 C 1/2&1/2 for 1/2 C of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
The taste is really good, but even though my rice usually comes out sticky, this came out undercooked. Strange- I followed the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Morgan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Next time, think I will use a touch less vanilla, and I added a couple drops of aromatic bitters and used craisins instead. But the recipe is fantastic! And very easy to do! Also! I used almond milk as a substitute because I am lactose intolerant. Worked just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Conna Allycen-Alex Miah Perron
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I love this recipe.I have been using it for years and it's always a crowd pleaser, even my picky father in law loves it. I do add an extra cup of milk and a stick of butter though. And no raisins and rarely wait for it to cool enough not to burn my tongue before devouring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is just delicious! I used our leftover rice from dinner, which just happened to be about a cup and a half. I used Mahatma Valencia short grained white rice. I used whole milk, and a whole teaspoon of vanilla. Right before pouring into serving dishes I stirred in 1/4 t. of ground cinnamon and nutmeg. Then when serving, I sprinkled a little more nutmeg on top, and a squirt of whipped cream from the can. Um Um Um. Thanks for a great use for leftover rice which I usually end up saving, only to throw away later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonnaWickwire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Not sure what I did wrong, but I was truly disappointed. I only had brown rice, but usually if you add a little extra water that can still work out. No. It did not. But it wasn't just the consistency of the rice--the pudding never truly thickened, and even though I did temper the raw egg I still got chunks of egg white. And the taste was...not good. Not sweet at all. I even tried adding some honey afterward to sweeten it, but even that didn't help. Most folks here seemed to do just fine with it, so it must have been something I did. Thought I followed the recipe (except for the brown rice), but....Yeah. Doubt I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I would definitely advice against adding the egg solo, and follow some if the reviewers input and mix in with a bit of milk and let stand at room temperature or mix in a little rice pudding at a time into the egg itself before (slowly) pouring the mixture into the pot. Sadly, I ended up with some "egg white" rice pudding. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,427) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States