Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
This is just delicious! I used our leftover rice from dinner, which just happened to be about a cup and a half. I used Mahatma Valencia short grained white rice. I used whole milk, and a whole teaspoon of vanilla. Right before pouring into serving dishes I stirred in 1/4 t. of ground cinnamon and nutmeg. Then when serving, I sprinkled a little more nutmeg on top, and a squirt of whipped cream from the can. Um Um Um. Thanks for a great use for leftover rice which I usually end up saving, only to throw away later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NonnaWickwire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Viera, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
Not sure what I did wrong, but I was truly disappointed. I only had brown rice, but usually if you add a little extra water that can still work out. No. It did not. But it wasn't just the consistency of the rice--the pudding never truly thickened, and even though I did temper the raw egg I still got chunks of egg white. And the taste was...not good. Not sweet at all. I even tried adding some honey afterward to sweeten it, but even that didn't help. Most folks here seemed to do just fine with it, so it must have been something I did. Thought I followed the recipe (except for the brown rice), but....Yeah. Doubt I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I would definitely advice against adding the egg solo, and follow some if the reviewers input and mix in with a bit of milk and let stand at room temperature or mix in a little rice pudding at a time into the egg itself before (slowly) pouring the mixture into the pot. Sadly, I ended up with some "egg white" rice pudding. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I cannot believe I made rice pudding! Thank you to the reviewer who talked about tempering the eggs...doubled the recipe, used sushi rice (the only non long grain I could find) and went a little lighter on the sugar, but for my first time ever making any kind of pudding, came out wonderfully! might play with using coconut milk or almond extract...maybe adding some lemon or orange zest...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is a 5 star rice pudding recipe. The only change I made is I put cinnamon on top when I served it. This is a very easy recipe to make and my family loves it. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Seriously delicious! I've made this twice now and it's my new favorite dessert! Yum! The first time I made it, I cooked the rice and made it exactly as directed. It was perfect. The second time, we had a whole box of left over rice from Chinese take out. I said "what the heck" and used it. It was great! Delicious! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
SO easy! I made it almost exactly as written, except I left out the raisins because I prefer my rice pudding without them, and I decreased the sugar slightly because I prefer it a little less sweet. But the basic science is there--perfect! I sprinkled just a tad of cardamom, cinnamon, and nutmeg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I added a little more milk and omitted the raisins. At the end, I topped with a little cinnamon. Just s pinch. After 21 years, My wife has finally said it was better than her Grandmother's. Mission accomplished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Thank you Erica for sharing this recipe! This was so delicious and fool-proof. It was similar to the one my Grandfather used to make, that no one has been able to duplicate. Thank you. We added 1 Tbsp of ground cinnamon, instead of 1 tsp, because that's how my family always made it- other than that, we followed your recipe exactly. Thank you. Thank you. "It was really, really good. We need to send our friends a bowl-ful." my little five-year old daughter said, she helped to make your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 3,419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States