Creamy Reuben Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I thought this was a good, solid, 4-star recipe. Maybe it would have been a 5-star for me if I'd used the full 1-cup of butter, but since I'm always trying to cut bad fats (and salt), I just couldn't make myself use that much butter! As it stands, I used just enough butter to sautee the vegetables (approx. 3 Tbsp.). I also did not use the seasoned salt as I didn't have any, but I rarely use salt so I don't think I missed it. I had leftovers the day after, and added additional sauerkraut, which I thought provided a nice flavor boost. I think additional caraway seeds will help, and I'll try that with my next bowl. I agree with the other reviewers who recommend making your own croutons if you can't find them in the store. They definitely add to the texture, if not the flavor, of this soup. Thanks Shannon for submitting the recipe. I don't know where Russ' Restaurant is, but I definitely want to try this soup there. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I made this recipe for my wife on her birthday and she loved it. I made the recipe exactly as it says here and it turned out great. I debated on making some corned beef for this but instead I found that one of the grocery stores in the area carries corned beef in their deli. I also couldn't find rye croutons at a store so I bought a loaf of rye bread and tore up a few pieces, put some butter on them and then baked them at 350 for about 15 minutes. They turned out great and went well with this soup. I will be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This was a tasty soup, but not as good as Russ'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherie Curtis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was super good, but not quite Russ' Ruben soup. I found that it was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Great recipe, but I lowered the fat content and it turned out wonderful. You really only need about 3 tblsp. of butter. Just thicken the soup by shaking the flour with low fat condensed milk and low fat milk combined ( not half-half), then add after the vegetable saute' and beef broth simmer have cooked the vegetables through. I run the flour/milk mix thru a sieve to catch any lumps. Followed rest of recipe pretty much, but did add a couple Tblsp. of sugar to boost the flavors and add dimension like the 1000 island dressing would for the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I just found this recipe today. I have not tried it yet but wanted to say thank you to Shannon for submitting it and allrecipes for publishing it. My inlaws live in Michigan and I have been having this soup there for about 25 years. I go there every summer and order this soup but could never find a recipe till today. My husband and I are excited to try it. I will be making this next weekend and can't wait . I will report back. It was so nice to see that someone else knows Russ restaurants . As I live in New Jersey and no one out here knows it . I will report back when I make it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made this recipe as listed, minus caraway seeds, and it was incredible! My boyfriend gave it rave reviews and didn't tire of it even after a few nights of leftovers. We both agreed that it is going into our regular rotation. I shared some with a friend of mine who can't stand swiss cheese and even she raved over it, asking that I bring some to work for her. Five stars from this satisfied cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBIF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
So delicious. Time consuming to make because I decided to make my own corned beef. It was absolutely delicious, and my entire family loved it! This is going to be a regular option here in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I have wanted this recipe ever since I first tried it at Russ's restaurant. I followed the recipe except added 1packet of Swanson's beef flavor boost since I wanted a beefier taste. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Delicious, unique, and creative! If you love Reubens, you will love this. I followed the recipe exactly, but cut it in half since it makes a large batch. I thought the addition of red peppers sounded odd, but found that it is a necessary ingredient in order to create the Thousand Island dressing taste that is a must on any classic Reuben. Whatever you do, don’t skip the croutons! While the soup is good by itself, it’s the crunch of the rye crouton that has you craving the next bite. Even salad croutons will work if you can’t find or make your own rye croutons. I used salad croutons that were made with black bread. Thank you so much, shannon, for sharing such a magnificent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States