Creamy Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Wonderfully creamy, a sweet taste of pumkin and spices. But I use a larger dish since mine is not deep (and cooking time is around 15 minutes longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I too doubled the spices (specially the cinammon) and also added vanilla paste (1/2 tsp) and an extra egg. The sweetend condensed milk comes in a smaller size in Canada (300ml) but that provided ample moisture and a great pie. I used my Braun hand electric chpper to puree and whip the filling which was a snap. Yummy. Was a great hit at our Cdn. Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
I'd never cooked with fresh pumpkin before, so I was very nervous about this recipe. I used a few shortcuts, including store-bought crusts (I used graham-cracker crust instead of regular pie crust). I used what I thought was a medium-sized pumpkin, but I ended up with WAY more pumpkin flesh than I needed. I also had more success processing the whole mixture in a blender than with a potato masher. Halfway through cooking, the cookie sheet holding my 2 pies slid off the shelf when I opened the oven. I scooped the pie filling back in (no way was I wasting it after all that effort), and continued baking. They were kind of ugly in the end, but they tasted heavenly. My husband (who didn't prep the pumpkin) has asked that I make it this way from now on, instead of using canned pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Thanks so much for this recipe! I always love to carve pumpkins for Halloween and then use the pumpkins for pies for Thanksgiving and this is the best recipe I have found. It's easy too! The only thing I change is that I double the spices, and it adds just the right amount of flavor. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
My pie crust shrank when I prebaked it, so I halved the recipe for the filling. Really really good recipe and I got rave reviews from family. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2001
*****Update 10/18/2006**** Three years later, my son is now 13 and he still asks for this pie!!! Just made 2 today. I make on average 5 - 7 pies every year. Awesome recipe, Paula. Much love to your Grandmom...WHERE EVER SHE IS!!! KUDOS, GRANDMA!!!!!----------5/2/2003 Every year, for the past 7 years, we go pumpkin picking with our 10 year old son Kenneth, We carve out a jack-o-lantern and throw away the insides. Not this year. I used this receipe and got wonderful results for my first time pie baking. My son couldn't get enough of it. And it was sooooo easy too! Our many thanks to Paula and her grandmom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This recipe was excellent, real quick and easy, the only thing that is time consuming, is the pumpkin cooking and mashing. Worth the effort though, the results were great, be sure to serve it with a generous dollop of whipped cream, definitely a crowd pleaser. Thanks for the recipe! MOSHI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2001
If you want to use FRESH pumpkin instead of filling from a can, THIS RECIPE is the BEST!! We baked the pumpkin, scaped into a food processor, blended, then put in freezer ziplock. Once that is done, the recipe is a breeze. And OH SO DELICIOUS! My husband could've eaten the whole pie himself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
Absolutely yummy! :) Thanks Paula!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2001
No question about the speed of preparation! Literally 10 minutes, at best. A recommended choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States