Creamy Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
a pumpkin plant mysteriously appeared in my garden this year and yielded one small pumpkin. I baked and pureed that pumpkin today and using two cups of pumpkin, made this recipe. I followed it exactly and OMG...it tastes just like restaurant quality. Just the right amount of spices and sweetness. Thank you so much for sharing this (and others for their tips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made this recipe as directed with the exception of using 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice (I was out of ginger) which provided great flavor, and cooking the pumpkin in the microwave (scooped side down with water). I used all 4 cups of fresh pumpkin and it was wonderful ........... maybe the food processing fluffed it so that it wasn't dry or heavy. I also baked the pie for stated amount of time: crust wasn't burnt and filling was perfect. My kids loved it so much that my 5 year old has been requesting it in her lunch. Great Recipe! I am making it again tonight for my work party AND my husband's work party tomorrow. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Ah, so delish! To my family, pumpkin pie has always been mediocre at best: the dessert that is only present at Thanksgiving because of its indelible status as a fall staple. A devout lover of all things pumpkin, I set out to change their minds about the power of this delightful orange fruit... and succeeded with the help of this recipe! It was my first attempt to make a pie from fresh pumpkin, and this recipe turned out beautifully... it has such a different texture than canned pumpkin pie. It is lighter and fluffier, less dense, more natural tasting and a different kind of sweet - the kind not achieved by syrups from a can. I used Nilla Wafer pre-made pie crust, but this was only a practice run for Thanksgiving and I plan on making my own pie crust next time. This was a smashing success - recommend to anyone! Baking the pumpkin seems like a lot of work, but it actually doesn't consume that much time and it's kindof fun. Only thing I would change - I think it needs more spice. If you like a milder pie, stick with the amount in the recipe, for a more traditional, cinnamony, gingery pie I would increase it a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I really liked this recipe!! My only criticism is that there we we weren't enough spices. i added cloves but the measurements aren't strong enough for me. In most cases I am not a huge pie fan, I always find them too sweet and almost sickening but this was just sweet enough!!!! came out soooooo tasty!!! a huge hit with everyone! we also used a white pumpkin for this. I don't think that makes much of a difference but I thought I would add it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshinEquine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
My grandfather told me this was one of the best pumpkin pies he has had in a while. I used fresh frozen pumpkin in this and it does make a difference no more of the canned stuff for us =) Thx for the simple and yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I've never had a fresh pumpkin pie recipe until I tried this one.. WOW is that good! I won't go back to canned pumpkin pie! I did alter the spices to my taste, so before you bake it you may want to taste it. You can't go back once you bake it! I also pureed the pumpkin and froze it. It was a nice treat again this spring when pumpkins were out of season! Thank you for putting the recipe out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster Groves, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I'm going to be using fresh pumpkin for pies for the rest of my life. This was the best pumpkin pie I've ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
Yummy! This is my favorite pumpkin pie recipe. Will alway make this one from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Use 2 cups of pumpkin (not 4)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Very good. I too only used 2 cups of pumpkin puree and the flavors turned out just right. I made my own pie crust and baked it for about 10 minutes before adding the pumpkin mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States