Creamy Potato With Rosemary Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This is a great recipe and easy to make. I substitute whole milk (and sometimes 2% milk) for the 1/2 and 1/2. It is so thick and healthy and the fresh rosemary is the perfect addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
great soup! I made it twice, the first time i wasn't so impressed but my husband loved it. So I made it again and took the time to caramelize the potato and onion (the first time i was in a rush and didn't wait for the color to turn). I think that really help bring out the flavor. I added the rosemary during the saute and additional 1 tsp when i added the stock. I used whole milk instead of half and half. I loved it the second time! will defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Excellent soup.... although not as amazing as the Creamy Butternut also offered by Pam Anderson (try it!). I used an immersion blender, and left a few chunks of potato so it seemed like a heartier meal. Also, I used half a cup of half&half, and the rest 1%. Still rich and lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This was very good, I love the rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This was an amazing recipe! I made a few modifications though, but it was still incredibly tasty. I didn't have russet potatoes, but I did have the tri-color mini potatoes, and those worked just as fine. It did delay the caramelization time, however, but no biggie. Added a little bit more sugar, and I Can't Believe It's Not Butter. Don't have cayenne pepper, so I used Paprika, red peppers and black pepper. Lastly, I used milk instead of the half & half, and just for giggles I included a quarter cup of white wine and about a tbsp of Dijon mustard. Blended that all together, and WOWZA! I wanted to lick pan clean it was that tasty. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melisa D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
this recipe is awesome we used beef broth we didnt have any we also used skim milk instead of half&half we also added a 1/2 teadpoon of freah thyme as well this was so good and creamy i loved it will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnuthikers

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
A keeper, for sure. Changes I made for our tastes: used minced garlic (from a jar) instead of the whole cloves; used no cayenne; used 1% milk instead of cream. The fresh rosemary really makes this great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This has become a staple in my house. I love this soup! I even use 1% milk and it's still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is a great dish for using up a bag of poatoes before they sprout. I replaced sliced green onions for the rosemary since I couldn't find any. The bacon topping really makes a meal out of this and adding some cheese makes it taste just like a baked potato with toppings. Sauteing the onion and potato gives it extra flavor than just boiling them would. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Very good. Not sure what it would take to make it "outstanding" and feel like I couldn't get enough. The serving size is about 3/4 cup. Bacon is a nice garnish; maybe next time I'll add some swirled cream to each serving. This took me an hour to make from start to finish. I increased the garlic, and the cayenne (which is very subtle) and you definitely need salt and freshly ground pepper. I'm glad I tried this. Not sure what the orange round things are in this photo, though; I'd love for someone to explain. This photo looked nothing like what I ended up with. Not even the green stuff. What IS all that, anyway??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States