Creamy Potato With Rosemary Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Good stuff. Omitted the bacon garnish (bought the bacon, but never got round to "deploying" it). No need ... but, as another review said....do no omit the rosemary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is a great dish for using up a bag of poatoes before they sprout. I replaced sliced green onions for the rosemary since I couldn't find any. The bacon topping really makes a meal out of this and adding some cheese makes it taste just like a baked potato with toppings. Sauteing the onion and potato gives it extra flavor than just boiling them would. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Very good soup. Added some cooked bacon in while simmering for the meat lovers in the house. Also had a sweet potato so I chopped that up with the white potatoes. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
great soup! I made it twice, the first time i wasn't so impressed but my husband loved it. So I made it again and took the time to caramelize the potato and onion (the first time i was in a rush and didn't wait for the color to turn). I think that really help bring out the flavor. I added the rosemary during the saute and additional 1 tsp when i added the stock. I used whole milk instead of half and half. I loved it the second time! will defiantly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Good! Really rich and creamy - very distinct flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Even though I only had red potatoes and garlic powder and dried rosemary, this came out very well. I simmered the potatoes with dry herbs and for 20 minutes instead of 10 in hopes they would blend well, and they did! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Wonderful recipe! So tasty, I only made a few adjustments. I reduced the rosemary to just less than a teaspoon and only used half a cup of whole milk instead of the half & half. As a poor student who doesn't own much, I used a hand mixer to do the puree-ing and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
this recipe is awesome we used beef broth we didnt have any we also used skim milk instead of half&half we also added a 1/2 teadpoon of freah thyme as well this was so good and creamy i loved it will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnuthikers

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KECIA123

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
A keeper, for sure. Changes I made for our tastes: used minced garlic (from a jar) instead of the whole cloves; used no cayenne; used 1% milk instead of cream. The fresh rosemary really makes this great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States