Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
As written, not so much. Revised with 4 slices of bacon for crumble on top, NOT IN the soup. Pour off all but 2 Tsp of the fat. Three mid sized leeks ... NEVER brown leeks, always sauté low and slow in reserved bacon fat, more than enough for flavor. Half and half sufficed. I used 2 Large yukon gold potatoes and hand blended 1/2 with the leeks, added the other half back cubed. This made it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
i made this very good followed it to the letter, then i made it again this time i added flour to the bacon drippings making a roux. cooked the leeks in butter. turned out very very creamy. then added clams and clam juice. out standing clam chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This soup was devoured by my coworkers, but in its original state, it was a little bland. I normally don't use much garlic powder, but I had to leave and get this to a potluck so I added garlic powder and some dill and the flavor was much improved. I agree with some of the reviewers that it is just too much bacon. I think if I made this again I'd saute the leeks with garlic and dill or some other herb in the drippings from one or two strips of bacon that I'd then discard (or eat!). All those chopped up fried bacon strips just turned into lumps of fatty gristle in the soup, but I might add some Canadian bacon or chopped ham instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
An absolutely wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very good soup! I used mashed potatoes that I had left over as well as some diced ham that was also left over. I added a little prepared mustard for fun, about a teaspoon. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
So yummy! I just ate two bowls and it was so simple, but the best potato soup I've ever had. I did use half and half instead of cream and I wasn't in the mood for bacon so left it out. I did use a little bacon grease to flavor the leeks. I loved the chicken broth instead of water to cook the potatoes in, it made it flavorful without extra richness. I'm sure making it exactly by the recipe would be wonderful, I just made to suit me. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mypuddin'

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Make a large pot of soup once a week and this is a new one on our love this list! Super easy and 1" thick sliced bacon is the way to go. We had the full cream so cheese wasn't desired. VERY FILLING! Perfect soup and salad meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
We loved this recipe! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
i made this today. I did not use bacon but substituted a few tablespoons of butter. When it was done I took out some potato cubes and used my hand blender to purée what was left. Then I added the potaoes back in. It is a very simple soup base for a creamy soup. Add broccoli and cheddar, corn or bacon to make different soups. I love it as plain potao leek soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffini
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made it twice in 2 weeks, favourite soup I've made thus far!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States