Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I made this recipe for my wife, as potato leek is her favorite kind of soup. It was a big hit and, every time we have it, she says it's the best she's ever had. My only criticism would be that, if you have leftovers, then by the next day it becomes more like mashed potatoes, but it still tastes great. We make it exactly as the recipe says, and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Omg, only 5 ingredients and this soup is delicious! I've made this recipe twice now. I followed the recipe, except used leftover ham instead of bacon, and milk instead of cream (lower in fat). Some people are commenting about how to make the liquid thicker (mashing some of the potatoes, adding potato powder, etc). I found, the easiest way, is, while chopping some of the potatoes, make some of them smaller pieces. When you boil the potatoes, the small ones disintegrate, making the liquid thicker. When I run out of ham, I look forward to trying it with the bacon. I imagine it will be even better! This recipe will definitely be added to my permanent recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
As written it is bland. It needs something to spice it up. Second time I made it, I added a couple cloves of garlic, salt and white pepper, and some fresh rosemary. That made it a better soup. Of course that also made it a completely different soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hiyadave

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
So simple, so delicious! We've made this multiple times and it is requested often by my children, as well as guests we've had over for soup meals
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Hirschler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
A little bland as is. I added a little garlic and crushed red pepper as well as pepper. Also, thickened it with a couple tablespoons of instant mashed potatoes. Delicious with the adjustments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Pretty easy. Pretty good. I used a little less bacon, a little extra low sodium chicken broth and salt and pepper at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
As written, not so much. Revised with 4 slices of bacon for crumble on top, NOT IN the soup. Pour off all but 2 Tsp of the fat. Three mid sized leeks ... NEVER brown leeks, always sauté low and slow in reserved bacon fat, more than enough for flavor. Half and half sufficed. I used 2 Large yukon gold potatoes and hand blended 1/2 with the leeks, added the other half back cubed. This made it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
i made this very good followed it to the letter, then i made it again this time i added flour to the bacon drippings making a roux. cooked the leeks in butter. turned out very very creamy. then added clams and clam juice. out standing clam chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This soup was devoured by my coworkers, but in its original state, it was a little bland. I normally don't use much garlic powder, but I had to leave and get this to a potluck so I added garlic powder and some dill and the flavor was much improved. I agree with some of the reviewers that it is just too much bacon. I think if I made this again I'd saute the leeks with garlic and dill or some other herb in the drippings from one or two strips of bacon that I'd then discard (or eat!). All those chopped up fried bacon strips just turned into lumps of fatty gristle in the soup, but I might add some Canadian bacon or chopped ham instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Blanchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
An absolutely wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 474) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States