Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Everyone loved this even though the rest of the family are not a fans of potatoes but I am. I made as per recipe and it is so good. This way I can enjoy my potatoes along with the non-potato eaters. Thanks Anabanana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
This was my frist attempt at homemade soup and it was a SMASH! Amazingly delicious and creamy, the only downfall is there wasn't enough. Definitely doubling recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
MOST AWESOME SOUP EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also added a few onions to the leaks, used evaporated milk instead of cream, and peppered the soup at the end. FANTASTIC!!!!! and so cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This recipe is awesome! My entire family loves it! First time I made it, I made it according to the recipe, fantastic! Afterwards, since I like leaving my soup to sit overnight, I dont put in the potoatos until later. I add a little flour to thicken the soup. If I have a turkey or chicken carcass , I boil that for a few hours with some chicken broth. I remove the bones and add the chicken to the soup. Its amazing and makes it very hearty. I usually only go for about 1/2-3/4 of the bacon the recipe calls for, I find too much bacon can sometimes take over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stepharoni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This soup was great. I used canned milk (what I had available) and yellow and red potatoes. I don't think it could have been better. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Yummy! I kept all the bacon grease in for flavour. And I used milk instead of cream. I think I would like this better if I blended everything and then added the bacon. Very warm and hearty. Perfect for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great soup! I left out the bacon and used vegetable broth to make it vegetarian. After the potatoes were tender I pureed them in a blender to make a smooth soup, poured it back into the pot, then added the rest of the ingrediants. Since I didn't use any bacon I sauteed the leeks in a 1/2 stick of butter and added lots of salt and pepper to season the soup. I did find that I ended up needing about 2 cups more of broth to make it the perfect soup consistency. Me and my husband topped this delcious soup off with shredded cheddar cheese and fried onions. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Princess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Utah, USA
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I make soup every week for our local food pantry. I'm always looking for a soup that is easily duplicated and increased. This was just wonderful! I made 16 quarts and was asked for this to be a regular. Tweeked it a bit just for cost sake. Left out the bacon and used butter. Used vegetable broth so everyone could enjoy and added an 8th cup of white wine per quart from what I'd read in another recipe. Thank you for what will be a staple at our pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA
Living In: East Hampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Darn tasty. I like the addition of bacon to the recipe -- bacon makes everything better. I used turkey stock instead of chicken broth (because I made some after Thanksgiving), and it worked fine. I added salt and pepper to the recipe, but that was probably only necessary because I didn't use enough of those seasonings when I made the stock. Live and learn. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jane cerva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
What I love most about this recipe is that it is so simple and basic, it is just as great whether you follow it step by step or whether you add your own love. I like to add onions and fresh garlic and if I really want to make it hearty I will add cubed ham on top of the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 454) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States