Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
super easy and super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this recipe last night, the only thing I did differently is pureed it. It was so so so good, even my finky husband liked it I will be making it regularly again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ybac
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Simple and perfect! I made it just as the recipe is written, except I used 5 cups of broth with my 8 potatoes. Maybe my potatoes were were larger? Also I didn't peel my potatoes. I served it with a fresh grind of pepper on top and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Simple and delicious recipe. I tweeked it a little bit to suit my taste. I added a bit of steamed cauliflower I had kicking around in the fridge, which made it even healthier (it's always nice to "hide" some extra veggies in a potato soup to make it a bit less carb rich). I also omitted the heavy cream and used a bit of whole powdered milk, which added creaminess w/o making it any runnier (we live in Africa, where cooking with powdered milk is common). Finally, I put 3/4 of the soup in the blender to make it smooth and more appealing to my 3 year old - she might have resisted a soup full of chunks of leeks, no matter how flavorful they were. Oh, and I used bacon bits instead of cooking my own bacon. Thanks for a simple and quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this tonight and everyone devoured it! Great, quick, and easy meal on a cool fall evening! I always tend to make a few changes to all recipes I use and adjust by taste mostly as I am cooking. I added some cubed chicken breast to it as well as a few extra spices and chicken bouillon cubes. My husband is not a fan of thin soups so I always thicken the broth just a tad as well, this time I used just a touch of poultry gravy mix I had in the cabinet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Dengel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queidersbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great, easy recipe. Followed the advice of a couple reviewers and added 2 cloves of garlic to the leeks while sauteing. We love spicy foods, so I chopped up a red jalapeno and sauteed that as well! Using a potato masher right in the pan, I lightly mashed the potatoes - loved the consistency. When we reheated this for left overs, we added some diced chicken to it -- WOW! A meal in a bowl. This is a very flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Great flavor. I added celery and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I like that this soup is easy to whip up and has so few ingredients( plus the bacon flavor really stood out). I did add carrots just because I like them in my potato leek soup. I also added a couple tablespoons of butter and about a teaspoon of salt and a dash of black pepper. I had to add extra cream because I pureed it and it was very thick. Overall with some tweaking this is a great recipe! I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
A little bland but fixed it up with garlic plus and herbamare. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was delicious. I ended up using two pieces of bacon and four leeks. I used half Yukon potatoes and half red potatoes. I used one cup heavy cream and 5 cups of water. I separated the green leek parts and boiled them with the potatoes. Then I fished out the green sections out later and added the cut up white parts. I mashed everything after I stopped the boil. It was quite good. I will use this for my Thanksgiving meal, substituting it for the usual mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States