Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Simple and delicious recipe. I tweeked it a little bit to suit my taste. I added a bit of steamed cauliflower I had kicking around in the fridge, which made it even healthier (it's always nice to "hide" some extra veggies in a potato soup to make it a bit less carb rich). I also omitted the heavy cream and used a bit of whole powdered milk, which added creaminess w/o making it any runnier (we live in Africa, where cooking with powdered milk is common). Finally, I put 3/4 of the soup in the blender to make it smooth and more appealing to my 3 year old - she might have resisted a soup full of chunks of leeks, no matter how flavorful they were. Oh, and I used bacon bits instead of cooking my own bacon. Thanks for a simple and quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this tonight and everyone devoured it! Great, quick, and easy meal on a cool fall evening! I always tend to make a few changes to all recipes I use and adjust by taste mostly as I am cooking. I added some cubed chicken breast to it as well as a few extra spices and chicken bouillon cubes. My husband is not a fan of thin soups so I always thicken the broth just a tad as well, this time I used just a touch of poultry gravy mix I had in the cabinet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Dengel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queidersbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great, easy recipe. Followed the advice of a couple reviewers and added 2 cloves of garlic to the leeks while sauteing. We love spicy foods, so I chopped up a red jalapeno and sauteed that as well! Using a potato masher right in the pan, I lightly mashed the potatoes - loved the consistency. When we reheated this for left overs, we added some diced chicken to it -- WOW! A meal in a bowl. This is a very flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Great flavor. I added celery and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I like that this soup is easy to whip up and has so few ingredients( plus the bacon flavor really stood out). I did add carrots just because I like them in my potato leek soup. I also added a couple tablespoons of butter and about a teaspoon of salt and a dash of black pepper. I had to add extra cream because I pureed it and it was very thick. Overall with some tweaking this is a great recipe! I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
A little bland but fixed it up with garlic plus and herbamare. Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was delicious. I ended up using two pieces of bacon and four leeks. I used half Yukon potatoes and half red potatoes. I used one cup heavy cream and 5 cups of water. I separated the green leek parts and boiled them with the potatoes. Then I fished out the green sections out later and added the cut up white parts. I mashed everything after I stopped the boil. It was quite good. I will use this for my Thanksgiving meal, substituting it for the usual mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made this today and have mixed feelings on it. I did change a few things to make it healthier (milk instead of cream, and 1/2 the amount of bacon). I only used 4 medium sized russet potatoes and even now I wonder if that was too many. After making it I felt it lacked something and was a little too thick for my liking, especially considering I wanted to let it simmer longer and there was barely any liquid left. I added another 1cup of skim milk and got the consistency I wanted. I didn't mind the flavour but my husband thought it was a bit bland. I added a dash of marjarom and about 1/2 tsp of thyme as well as some sea salt and pepper to taste and let it simmer for an hour. This made the soup have a wonderful flavour and a great consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Welland, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This soup is perfect! I made it exactly to the recipe and it came out excellent. I added some salt to taste right after I finished it but I should have waited a little longer. I think if I had let it sit for a few minutes then the salty bacon would have added all the salt I needed. Anyhow it was so delicious and easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This is a great easy, quick, and relatively healthy meal. I'd never cooked with leeks before, and wow yummy! I changed just a few things because of the ingredients I had on hand. I sauted the leeks in 4T butter then added previously cooked sausage and about a 1/4c flour for future thickening. Then I poured the cooked potatoes into that broth and all. I just added 1c regular milk since I didn't have any heavy cream. Still great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 459) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States