Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Just made this and it was incredible!! SO easy to make!! Followed the recipe exactly except I added a little garlic and onion to the leeks because I only had 2 leeks. No spices needed! Will make again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Love it! My whole family including 3 kids age 8, 6 & 5 love it. My daughter doesn't do dairy so we just scoop hers out before adding the cream. I typically substitute half&half because I always have it on hand. I have also subsituted left over ham for the bacon and it is ALWAYS a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
super easy and super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I made this recipe last night, the only thing I did differently is pureed it. It was so so so good, even my finky husband liked it I will be making it regularly again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ybac
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Simple and perfect! I made it just as the recipe is written, except I used 5 cups of broth with my 8 potatoes. Maybe my potatoes were were larger? Also I didn't peel my potatoes. I served it with a fresh grind of pepper on top and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ybac

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Simple and delicious recipe. I tweeked it a little bit to suit my taste. I added a bit of steamed cauliflower I had kicking around in the fridge, which made it even healthier (it's always nice to "hide" some extra veggies in a potato soup to make it a bit less carb rich). I also omitted the heavy cream and used a bit of whole powdered milk, which added creaminess w/o making it any runnier (we live in Africa, where cooking with powdered milk is common). Finally, I put 3/4 of the soup in the blender to make it smooth and more appealing to my 3 year old - she might have resisted a soup full of chunks of leeks, no matter how flavorful they were. Oh, and I used bacon bits instead of cooking my own bacon. Thanks for a simple and quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Made this tonight and everyone devoured it! Great, quick, and easy meal on a cool fall evening! I always tend to make a few changes to all recipes I use and adjust by taste mostly as I am cooking. I added some cubed chicken breast to it as well as a few extra spices and chicken bouillon cubes. My husband is not a fan of thin soups so I always thicken the broth just a tad as well, this time I used just a touch of poultry gravy mix I had in the cabinet. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Dengel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queidersbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Great, easy recipe. Followed the advice of a couple reviewers and added 2 cloves of garlic to the leeks while sauteing. We love spicy foods, so I chopped up a red jalapeno and sauteed that as well! Using a potato masher right in the pan, I lightly mashed the potatoes - loved the consistency. When we reheated this for left overs, we added some diced chicken to it -- WOW! A meal in a bowl. This is a very flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alecia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Great flavor. I added celery and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I like that this soup is easy to whip up and has so few ingredients( plus the bacon flavor really stood out). I did add carrots just because I like them in my potato leek soup. I also added a couple tablespoons of butter and about a teaspoon of salt and a dash of black pepper. I had to add extra cream because I pureed it and it was very thick. Overall with some tweaking this is a great recipe! I'll be making it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States