Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Definitely saving this to favorites! I used red-skinned potatoes and left the skins on; baked the bacon for 15 minutes at 400* because I don't like getting spattered with hot grease when it's fried; added 4 rough-chopped cloves of garlic when sauteing the leeks; and used a full pint of cream. I only had 2 leeks but the balance seemed good, and honestly, the two of them sliced pretty much filled my skillet -- if I'd had a third I would have needed another skillet going! End result: the pink of the potato skins and bacon looked vibrant next to the green of the leeks. Fantastic comfort food for a chilly night; my wife and 5-year-old both loved it as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chili King Dex

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Absolutely delicious and super quick and easy to make! I fed it to the 3 pickiest eaters I know: My boyfriend and 2 step daughters. They all loved it! This is a welcomed addition to my weeknight menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This soup is fast, easy and great. And don't skimp and us regular milk and then complain that it is bland. I grow leek so it is a perfect fall soup for my family. The only thing I added was freshly ground pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodcookmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Range, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is my autumn tradition, and our whole family looks forward to it. It's heavy alright...do not make this if you're dieting! But it's oh, so yummy when made with fresh, local veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN
Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I didn't have enough potatoes to make the recipe as written, however I went ahead since I had too many leeks! I used turkey bacon and 1% milk to cut down on calories/fat and it turned out really well. I left the peels on my potatoes as well, just as a personal preference. I'll make this again with my changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Amazing recipe !! I did follow some of the other review tips. Used half pound of bacon and half pound of ham, added fresh tyme to potatoes while boiling, sauted leeks with butter and garlic, also pureed most of soup and left some chunks, garnish with old cheddar...... very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I really enjoyed making this recipe and will definitely make it again! Next time, I'll use less bacon and maybe add a bit of butter. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Perfect just the way it says... but I added pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
This was really simple and absolutely delicious! I used Yukon Gold potatoes and they held up really well, I think that's important. I slightly mashed them, broke them up a bit really before adding the leeks and cream. Also, a note about the amount of potatoes: I used up the potatoes I had, which was 9 medium potatoes, but I had a lot to trim off, so it worked out to about 8 cups diced. At first I only used the 4 cups chicken broth, cooked the potatoes while frying bacon and leeks. But my leeks were so huge, I knew I wouldn't have enough broth, so I added about another 2 cups vegetable broth (I was out of chicken) and heated it up. I increased the cream accordingly. Other additions I threw in were: 1 large carrot, diced, for color really. 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped. And once all these were cooked with the leeks, I added 1 can of creamed corn and some cracked pepper. I think you could add whatever vegetables you want to the sauteeing leeks,I might even try mushrooms sometime. Half and half worked very well, I don't think I would go heavier. Also, for the broth, quality matters! If you don't make your own, I've found that Pacific Foods Organic broth is wonderful, I don't bother making my own now. Thanks for this recipe, I will make often as it was sooo easy and sooo good!! Kids loved it topped with a little shredded cheddar and a breadstick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
AWESOME!!! I have made this soup 4 times now and even make it for company. I followed the recipe exactly the first time, and definitely good, but the leeks turned my soup bright green, which I didn't love. The next time I followed the recipe exactly, except used a whole chopped sweet onion, cooked down in butter and garnished it with green onions and a bit of crumbled bacon. The third time I settled on my favorite version, which was using the onions instead of leaks (and garnishing with green onions) and only using 3 strips of bacon and using a couple tablespoons of ham base (Better than Boullion ham base) and 2% milk. This is a healthier version yet still incredibly flavorful! Puree'ing the potatoes will make it perfectly thick without all of the bacon and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstorment

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States