Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I took the liberty of frying garlic with the leeks. Also used about half of the bacon called for. Garnished with shredded cheddar and tsp. of sour cream. Texture was like a chowder. Very hearty and filling. Needed recipe for leeks pulled out of garden. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Todd Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Great recipe as originally listed. The only additions I had were garlic powder and shaved Parmesan cheese. The Parmesan gave it the light kick it needed. I'll definitely add this to my family recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Wow! My co worker gave me some leeks from his garden. I had no clue what to do with them, but this was so good I'm planting leeks in my garden next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
A family favorite. I use turkey bacon, half and half and butter milk. Leeks are simmered with potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I've never used leeks before but I heard they make a great soup. I found this recipe and because of the ratings decided to try it. I used baby reds and a few gold potatoes (since that is what I had on hand), 8 cups chicken broth, 2 bay leaves, and a pinch or so of thyme, parsley, rosemary and dill seed. I fried half the bacon suggested to a nice crisp. I rinsed three medium size leeks and used part of the white bulb and most of the green leaves, chopped thinly and used the bacon grease to sauté the leeks til tender. And as others suggested, I added 2 chopped garlic cloves with the leeks. Then I used half and half and 2% milk. A little pepper, didn't add any salt, and this is delicious. Next time I'll add chopped celery and carrots with the leeks. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
meh.. not my favorite. I would call this potato and lots of bacon soup. I made as the recipe called except substituting whole milk for cream. I found it bland. It tasted like boiled potatoes with lots of bacon. So many different variables though, type and size of potatoes, bacon and use of chicken stock. I used high quality bacon and homemade chicken stock and medium yellow potatoes. I was able to save it adding additional seasoning. Consistency was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA97303

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
AMAZING!! Easy to make. Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made this for my extremely picky husband...he loved it! So easy to make and the flavor is awesome! He said throw out my other potato leek recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 463) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States