Creamy Potato Leek Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
AMAZING!! I could even get my super picky eater to love it! This will become one of our cold winter day meals for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sterling2414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Great basic recipe for this kind of soup. I went ahead like some of the other reviews and used lowfat milk instead of heavy cream and used 1/2 the amount of bacon. I love garlic and added that too. Quite delicious! My husband helped himself to 3 bowls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Loved it !! Did it exactly to the recipe and it was great. Next time I'd blend the potatoes before adding the rest of the ingredients. (An easy trick to the bacon prep is to cut the bacon before frying it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I only used 6 potatoes, light cream, added a small crown of broccoli and pureed the soup just before serving. Next time I will omit the bacon as it did nothing for the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This was delicious and will now be my go to potato soup recipe. I did change a few things. I only used 6 potatoes , only 1 leek, and 5 strips of bacon. I also cooked the leeks in all of the bacon renderings but then added about 1 1/2 TBSP of flour to the leeks. I cooked it for a minute or two, added my milk and half and half combo (I did a half cup of each) to the leeks, let it thicken up a little, then added it to the soup. I topped it with cheddar cheese and the bacon pieces and it was delicious. My boys LOVED it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Pretty good but I think 3 leeks was to a but too much for our taste. Tasty tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Good, I had to use more chicken broth than the recipe called for. I also halved the recipe and it was great for lunch with some bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilysmommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Great without the bacon, for a vegetarian option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
boil the leeks until tender in the broth, used half & half in blender with some of the cooked potatoes & broth (chicken & vegie broth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Super easy! I made this for dinner then turned around and made it for a potluck in the same week! Add some bread and a salad and you have a super easy wonderful dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agnew0828

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Potato Leek Soup II

This potato leek soup is simple, rich, and oh so satisfying.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States